Greene lies in the south-west corner of the County, and is bounded on the north by Smithville, on the east by Oxford and Coventry, and on the south and west by Broome county. It was erected March 15th, 1798, from Union, Broome county, and Jericho, (now Bainbridge,) both then in Tioga county, and was named in honor of Gen. Nathaniel Greene of Revolutionary fame. It comprises the south-easterly portion of the Chenango Triangle and the westerly portion of the township of Greene, the dividing line between these tracts being the Chenango river, which crosses the town diagonally from north-east to south-west,---a part of Jericho was annexed in 1799. Coventry was taken off Feb. 7th, 1806, and Smithville April 1, 1808, a part of Barker, Broome county, was taken off April 28th, 1840, and a part of Coventry in 1843.
The surface of the town is a rolling and hilly upland, broken by deep, fertile and beautiful valleys, that on the Chenango being about a mile in width. The hills, which rise to a height of 500 to 700 feet above the river, and whose low curving outlines form surfaces of great beauty, are susceptible of cultivation to their summits. It is well watered by the Chenango and its tributaries, the principal of which are Genegantslet creek, which flows south through the western part, and Page Brook,1 which flows in a south-westerly direction across the south-east corner.
It is underlaid by the rocks of the Chemung and Catskill groups, the former covering the greater part of the town, and the latter capping the highest elevations. Quarries have been opened in both and a good quality of flagging and building stone obtained. From a quarry on the farm of Edward G. Cowles, in the south-west part of Greene village, stone was obtained for the aqueduct upon which the canal crosses the river just below the village of Greene. This quarry has not been worked for several years. A quarry is opened in the north-west part of the town, in and on both sides of Brag Pond Brook, on the farms of Ceber Whitmarsh and Stephen W. Davis; another is opened on Birdsall Brook, just north of Greene village, from which good building stone is obtained; and a fourth on the Haynes farm, about two and one-half miles below Brisbin, which was opened for the culverts on the canal and Christie's Creek,2 and has not been used since the canal was completed. The quarry on Birdsall Brook exposes, but a few feet above the road, the rock of the Catskill group in thick blocks, subdivided into the courses obliquely arranged. The rock is hard and unchangeable.
These quarries exhibit in a measure the characteristic fossils of the groups. That on the Cowles farm also contains the large species of encrinite, so common and which appears to be confined to the Chemung group.3 "It is almost invariably replaced wholly, or in great part, with lamellar carbonate of iron rock with concretions; the lower part consists of thin and irregular masses, with slaty shale. The floor of the quarry showed tentaculites." 4
Alluvial deposits cover the valleys and appear in places over the hill sides, notably to the north of the village of Greene. They consist chiefly of primary rock5 and gray and red sandstone. Upon the hills generally the soil is a gravelly and shaly loam.
It is a dairy town, for which purpose it is admirably adapted; what little grain is raised is used chiefly for fodder. The milk is largely carried to factories, of which there are not less than five in the town, though private dairying is carried on very extensively. Frank Blanding operates a creamery and a cheese factory, the former known as "Day Spring" creamery, located about three and one-half miles above Greene, and the latter known as the Johnson factory, about three and one-half miles east of Greene. One and one-half miles above Greene is Nathan Smith's cheese factory; midway between Greene and Chenango Forks, on the farm of John C. Marcy, is the Marcy cheese factory; this latter being also operated by Frank Blanding.
In 1878, a new cheese factory, known as the "Sacket's Harbor" factory, was built by a stock company.
The Chenango Canal and the Utica division of the D. L. & W. R. R. extend through the town along the valley of the Chenango River. The latter connects with the main line of that road at Chenango Forks, in the south-west corner of the town, and opens up a quick and easy communication with all the principal markets for its extensive dairy products.
The population of the town in 1875 was 3,560; of whom 3,427 were native, 133 foreign, 3,537 white, and 25 colored, 1,742 males, and 1,818 females. Its area was 43,053 acres, of which 31,767 acres were improved, 9,732 acres woodland and 1,554 acres otherwise unimproved.
SCHOOLS.---There are twenty-one common and one Union School districts in the town, each of which has a school-house within the town, and three common school districts which have not. The number of children of school age residing in the districts Sept. 30, 1877, was 1,014. During the year ending Sept. 30, 1878, there were 18 male and 36 female teachers employed, 28 of whom were licensed. The number of children residing in the districts who attended school was 894, of whom 4 were under five or over twenty-one years of age; the attendance during the year was 461,396; the number of volumes in District Libraries was 2,218, valued at $1,872; the number of school-houses was 22, of which 21 were frame and one brick, which, with the sites, embracing five acres and 140 rods, valued at $2,195, were valued at $17,835; the assessed value of taxable property in the districts was $2,313,790. The number of children between eight and fourteen years of age residing in the districts Sept. 30, 1877, was 376, of whom 365 attended district school during fourteen weeks of that year.
Receipts and disbursement for school purposes:---
Amount on hand, Oct. 1, 1876, $ 33 40 " apportioned to districts 3,464 31 Proceeds of Gospel and School lands 42 94 Raised by Tax 2,767 63 From teachers' board 646 00 " other sources 1,214 78 ---------$8,169 00
Paid for teachers' wages $6,494 77 " libraries 60 60 " school apparatus 10 31 " houses, sites, fences, out-houses, repairs, furniture, &c 920 04 " other incidental expenses 604 83 Amount remaining on hand, Oct. 1, 1877 78 60 ---------$8,169 15
The Indians, the former occupants of this country, continued through its heavily wooded hills and vales in quest of game and fish long after their title to the lands was surrendered. They mingled freely with the whites, the first settlers, and were generally very friendly toward them. They were principally Oneidas, and their chief, Abram Antoine,6 notwithstanding his subsequent perfidy, is known to have frequently interposed in behalf of the whites in unfriendly altercations between them and the Indians. They had a village and treaty house7 on the west bank of the Tioughnioga,8 a little north of the bridge crossing that river at Chenango Forks, and were quite numerous there as late as 1812. The numerous remains, buried in a sitting posture, and surrounded and covered with stones, which have been exhumed in excavating cellars in Chenango Forks, indicate that they had a burying ground on the site of that village, east of the Tioughnioga. Numerous Indian relics, such as brass kettles, tomahawks, arrow heads and wampum, have also been disclosed by similar excavations from the same locality.
This town furnishes one of those ancient relics fraught with so much interest to the antiquarian; but whether referable to our immediate predecessors, the Indians, or to a race anterior to them, is yet a matter of conjecture. It is one of those links which connect the present with the obscure, uncertain past, whose history is imperfectly traced by rude, fragmentary, but enduring monuments, of which we have only vague traditions, which are corrupted and distorted by the mystical channels through which they necessarily pass. It consisted of a circular mound forty feet in diameter, situated on a beautiful plateau of some fifty acres, about two miles below Greene village, near and below the mouth of Genegantslet Creek, and about ninety rods from the river bank. Before being plowed over it was six or seven feet above the surface of the surrounding ground, and was surmounted by several lofty pines, one of which, though dead when the whites same in, showed, when cut, 180 concentric circles. An examination of this mound, made in 1829, after the timber had been removed, revealed a large quantity of human bones, so intermingled with each other as to indicate a hasty irregular interment, as of those who had fallen in battle, and so much decayed as to crumble or fall apart on being exposed and handled. With these remains were exhumed fragments of rude pottery, curiously wrought into various shapes; stone chisels of different shapes; axes; pestles for pounding corn; a silver ring, about two inches in diameter, extremely thin, but wide, enclosing, apparently, the remains of a reed pipe, supposed to have been some sort of a musical instrument; a large piece of mica, cut into the form of a heart, the border much decayed and the laminę separated; and numerous arrow heads, which have also been turned up by the plow in various parts of the town. Of the latter, 200 were found quite in one pile, all of either yellow or black flint, a substance not found in this part of the State, and in another part of the mound, about 60 of the same form were found lying together.9 The remains were two or three feet below the surface of the surrounding land. The mound has been leveled by the plow and other agencies, and no trace of it now remains. Its site is occupied by the barn and other buildings of Mr. Samuel C. Wagner.
The settlement of the town was commenced in 1792, on lot 11, on the site of the present village of Greene, by Stephen Ketchum, who came from Ballston, Saratoga county, with an ox team to Oxford, and thence on a raft to his place of destination. Mr. Ketchum was a man of great energy and character, and admirably fitted for pioneer life. His rude cabin, though not a public house in the common acceptation of that term, was the seat of a generous hospitality which was dispensed freely to all the adventurers in this section of the country. He was for many years the most noted man in the town; he was its first magistrate, and was the recipient of other important public trusts. He died April 15, 1810, aged 58 years. His children and their descendants were among the most respected residents of the town. His sons were Stephen and Daniel, the former of whom died May 17, 1863, aged 85, and the latter, August 19, 1842, aged 42. Stephen married Esther Sheldon, who was born in Torrington, Conn., March 1, 1783, and died Sept. 10, 1847, aged 64. Hester, wife of Daniel, died April 17, 1866, aged 74. He had two daughters, both of whom are dead. One married Stephen Bradley, some of whose children are now living on the Genegantslet in this town; the other married William Hoyt, none of whose children are living in the town.
In the fall of this same year, 1792, the first detachment of a colony of French refugees, who are supposed to have arrived at Philadelphia the preceding year, came on and formed a settlement. They consisted of M. de Bo Lyne, M. Shamont, M. Le Fevre, M. Bravo, M. Du Vernet and M. Obre, who, with their associates fled from their own country to escape the terrors of the revolution. One of their number, Charles Felix de Bo Lyne,10 had preceded the main body and purchased of Malachi Treat and Wm. M. Morris, to whom it was patented in 1787 or '8, a tract of 15,835 acres on the east side of the Chenango, which was subdivided in 1792, by Captain John Harris, a surveyor, into about 150 lots of various sizes, exclusive of the French village plot. It was resurveyed in 1807, by William McAlpin.
This advance party, a portion of whom had their families, which comprised some young ladies, came by the way of the Hudson and Mohawk rivers to Fort Plain, and thence across the country to Butternuts, in Otsego county, where they induced Simon Barnett, a Frenchman, who had previously resided in Philadelphia, and had acquired some knowledge of the English language, to accompany them in their settlement in Greene. They were, mostly, gentlemen and ladies of education, refinement and polished manners, and their leader, M. de Bo Lyne, is said to have been a titled nobleman in France. Until they could provide shelter for themselves and families they enjoyed the hospitality of Stephen Ketchum, whom they employed to cut a road through the wilderness from their settlement to the "Chenango road", at or near the point where the east line of the present town of Greene intersects it. This road, the vestiges of which are still visible, seems to have never been used after the colony was broken up. A village plot was laid out, each lot containing ten acres, and the whole embracing about 300 acres.
"The plans of operation in carrying on their agricultural pursuits were the same adopted in many parts of their native country, where the agriculturist with his family resides in the village and owns and works a farm, more or less remote from his residence. With this view each was to select his farm on other portions of the tract, thus combining social intercourse and good society with rural pursuits."
Rude dwellings were constructed from the materials at hand, and each settler proceeded to put a small patch of land under complete cultivation; while their supplies of provisions were drawn from great distances at much labor and expense. "Under these circumstances," says Dr. Purple, before quoted, " it is not strange that persons reared in affluence and accustomed to the pleasures of refined society should yield to the pressure of the misfortunes that soon overtook them."
In 1794 the little colony was visited by the celebrated French diplomatist, Talleyrand, who was then sojourning in this country. He came from Philadelphia on horseback, accompanied by a traveling companion and a servant, and after remaining here a few days, pursued his journey to Albany. Having while here made the acquaintance of M. Dutremont and family, who had previously joined the settlement, and become much interested in his eldest son, on leaving he prevailed upon the latter, with the consent of his parents to accompany him to France, where he subsequently became his private secretary.
In the spring of 1795, M. de Bo Lyne, while on his way to Philadelphia, was drowned while crossing the Loyal Cock, a tributary of the west branch of the Susquehanna, then much swelled with the spring floods. This untimely death of their leader, and the failure to pay the balance of the purchase money due on their land (on which a considerable sum had been paid and a mortgage given for the balance,) and the consequent inability to secure valid titles thereto, led to the ultimate dispersion of the colonists, the majority of whom left in 1796. They descended the Chenango, in such boats as they could procure for the purpose, to its intersection with the Susquehanna, and thence down that river to a point on its western bank in Bradford county, Pa., where they again commenced a settlement which they name Asylum, but which afterward acquired the name of French Town.
Their lands in Greene reverted to the original patentees. Simon Barnett, the only one of the French refugee colonists who remained here, was born of French parents on the Isle of Martinique, in the West Indies. At the early age of 14 years, during the Revolutionary war, he started for this country in a French privateer, which was captured by a British man-of-war and brought to Philadelphia, where young Barnett made his escape. He afterwards learned the trade of a ship carpenter, and worked at it till he had acquired some property, including a house and lot in Philadelphia, which he exchanged for land in Butternuts, to which town he removed a few years after the close of the war. He married in Philadelphia Margaret Sidell, who emigrated with her parents from Germany. From Butternuts, in 1792, he accompanied the French refugees to their settlement in this town, locating on a half acre of the Joseph Juliand farm in Greene village, and after their dispersion, removed to a 200 acre tract four miles below the village, on the east side of the river, 100 acres on each of Nos. 8 and 9 of the Treat and Morris tract, the lower half being now occupied by William Baker, and the upper one having recently been sold to Stephen Galaway. Here he resided till within a short time of his death, at an advance age, in March, 1838, when he removed to the residence of his son, Charles Felix Bo Lyne Barnett, who was born in Butternuts, Nov. 23, 1792, and is the only survivor of a numerous family.
Captain Joseph Juliand joined the French colony just before its entire dispersion, as early as 1796, in which year he was chosen an officer in the old town of Bainbridge. He was born in Lyons, France, Jan. 17th, 1749, and in early life received a good Academic education. His subsequent studies were directed with a view to his becoming a medical practitioner and he acquired a good general knowledge of that science, which in after life, as commander of a ship's crew and a pioneer in a new country, proved very serviceable. His tastes, however, led him to abandon the study of medicine and adopt at an early age a maritime life, in which he rose through all the subordinate grades to the rank of commander of a vessel in the mercantile marine of France. In this capacity he made several voyages across the Atlantic, principally between the ports of Nantes and Bordeaux in France and Boston and Philadelphia in this country. His periodical visits to this country afforded him opportunity to travel in the interior, mingle freely with the people, and learn their language, manners and customs. On one of these occasions, while spending some time in the vicinity of New Haven, Connecticut, he made the acquaintance of Hannah Lindsley, the daughter of a respectable farmer, whom he married in 1788, and soon after removed to a farm near Greenfield, Massachusetts.
In 1798, having heard of the establishment of the French colony here, on being solicited to do so, he made preparations to join it. After disposing of his property he set out on his journey with his family consisting of his wife and two children. He penetrated this then almost unbroken wilderness " in the expectation of finding a new home and congenial society." Leaving his family in the present town of Coventry he proceeded to prepare for their reception here. On arriving at the settlement he was surprised to find that many had gone and that others were preparing to follow; but nothing daunted he purchased the land, including the town plot, abandoned by his disheartened countrymen, and made it his home during the rest of his life. He lived to witness the success of his enterprise and enjoy in some measure the fruits of that prosperity to which he contributed so much. He came here as the agent of John Jukel, who acquired through his wife, who was a Livingston, a large portion of the French tract. He died Oct. 13th, 1821; and his wife, who was born in New Haven, Connecticut, Jan. 27th, 1763, April 11th, 1851. He had five sons and one daughter, all of whom lived to be heads of families and resided in the vicinity. Four sons are still living, viz: Lewis, George and Frederick in Greene, the former, the eldest, on the homestead, and Richard W., in Bainbridge. Joseph, who was born Feb. 23, 1797, died Feb. 13, 1870. His wife, A. M., who was born May 6, 1804, died May 1, 1860. Irene, wife of Richard W., died Feb. 8th, 1818, aged 25. His grandchildren living are Joseph in Bainbridge, and Stephen, wife of James M. Banks, in Chicago, children of Richard W.; William L., Joseph B., and Emma C., children of Lewis, on the old homestead in Greene; Charles and Henry, children of George, in Greene; Joseph E., a banker, Cornelia, wife of William Russell, senior partners in the firm of Russell & Juliand, bankers, children of Joseph Juliand, deceased, both in Greene; and John, Sarah and Minnie, wife of E. J. Arnold, a lawyer, children of Frederick, all in Greene.
Frederick Juliand, the youngest son of Captain Joseph Juliand, was born in Greene, October 9, 1806, and received an academic education in Oxford and Utica. He was one of the incorporators for locating the Soldiers' Home, and a trustee of the Inebriate Asylum in Binghamton from its inception in 1853 to 1868. He was a Member of Assembly in 1856, serving on the Committee on Banks, and was State Senator from the 23d District, comprising Chenango, Madison and Cortland counties, in 1864 and '65, when he was Chairman of the Committee on Public Printing and a member of the Committees on Banks, Roads and Bridges, and Poor Laws. In the Senate he was instrumental in securing the extension of the Chenango Canal from Binghamton to Athens. In 1867 he was again elected to the Assembly. In the summer of 1864 the town of Greene had occasion to forward funds to an agent at Newberne, N. C. who was there endeavoring to enlist men to fill their quota. Mr. Juliand, much against his will, was induced to undertake the task. He started by the way of Washington and Norfolk, taking the steamer Fawn at the latter place for Roanoke Island, by the way of the Dismal Swamp Canal. When about 150 miles from Norfolk they were attacked by guerrillas and nine of the party of thirty, killed and wounded. Mr. Juliand and the remained of the survivors were taken prisoners and robbed of all their baggage. The steamer was burned and they were compelled to march all night, a distance of 30 miles, to Elizabeth City, where, after being robbed of $6,000, a portion of the funds he was transporting, he and Major Jenney, of Syracuse, were paroled, through the interference of a friend, the remainder of the party being marched off to a vile southern prison, where it has since been ascertained more than half of them died horrible deaths. He and his companions made their escape from Rebel dominion in a sail-boat, after being without food or shelter for about two entire days.
In 1793, Nathaniel Kellogg, Cornelius Hill and Daniel Tremain settled at Brisbin; Kellogg was a clergyman and organized there, in 1795, the first Baptist church in Chenango county. He settled on the farm now owned by ____ Lietch and removed to Steuben county about 1820. He had only one child, a daughter, who married Selah Barnes. Hill settled on the Tillotson place and built near there, three miles above Greene village, the first grist-mill on the river within the town. He subsequently removed to Smithville and died there. Tremain, father of Daniel, Erastus and Silas Tremain, settled on lot 9 of the Livingston tract, on the east side of the river, about one-fourth mile below Brisbin, on the place now occupied by his grandson, Richard Tremain, where he and his sons died, Daniel Sr., Dec. 21, 1853, aged 94, Mary, his first wife, April 9, 1819, aged 57, and Sabra, his second wife, June 4, 1842, aged 64. Daniel, his son, died Feb. 24, 1841, aged 51, and Cynthia S., his wife, July 14, 1849, aged 47. Silas died Jan.26, 1818, aged 30. Mary, wife of Samuel Walker, of Greene, Richard Tremain, of Brisbin, and Erastus Tremain, of Smithville Flats, are grandchildren of his. Erastus, son of Daniel, succeeded his father on the homestead.
Conrad Sharp, a Dutchman, came in from the eastern part of the State in 1793, and settled on the west side of the river, about three miles below Brisbin, on the farm now owned and occupied by the widow of Seth Hollenbeck, where, in 1794, he opened the first tavern in town. It was a log structure and in 1806 he had the honor of entertaining in it Governor Morgan Lewis, who was then interested in the establishment of brigade military trainings.
Sharp was succeeded there about 1807 by David S. Crandall, who soon after built a frame house, and about 1838, the stone one now occupied by the widow Hollenbeck. He kept hotel there till his death, Oct. 31, 1857, and was succeeded by his son till within about 26 years. Crandall was born Nov. 9, 1772; his wife, Anna, was born April 30, 1782, and died Oct. 23, 1856. Dr. Ralph B. Crandall, of Greene, is a son of his. Harrison, another son, is living in Pennsylvania. Sharp's children left the town at an early day. Sharp built in 1795 the first saw-mill in the town. It stood near the grist-mill erected the previous year by Abraham Storms and Henry Vorse.
Amos Gray and Samuel Wheeler settled in 1794, the former one-half mile below Brisbin, and the latter on the site of the village, on the east side of the river, on the farm now occupied by Eli Bartoo, where he died. Gray, who was blind, was a brother of Elder Jeduthan Gray, who organized at Genegantslet, in 1807, the Second Baptist Church Society of Greene, of which he was for twenty-five years the pastor. The Grays were from Berkshire county, Mass. Amos died where he settled. His children were: Jeduthan, 2d., who, after attaining his majority, about 1807, removed to Greene village, where he kept the hotel on the site of the Chenango House, and removed West about 1810 or 1812; Enoch, who kept at Brisbin, in 1796, the second school in town, teaching some ten winters in succession,11 and lived and died in Greene village; and Amos, who lived on the homestead till well advanced in years, when he removed to Greene village, where he died May 9, 1868, aged 77. Warren and Bethuel were sons of Elder Jeduthan Gray, who settled on a farm between Greene and Genegantslet in 1807, and removed about 1825 to northern Pennsylvania, where he died, in 1830, at an advanced age. Warren possessed a highly intellectual and judicial mind. He enjoyed a large share of personal popularity, and held various town offices, among them that of Magistrate for fifty consecutive years. He died in December, 1868, aged 83. Bethuel died February 4, 1866, aged 79, and Cornelia, his wife, July 7, 1869, aged 75.
Samuel Wheeler was an Englishman. His father served in the British army during the Revolutionary war under Burgoyne, and on the surrender of that General, remained in the Country. Samuel's children were: William; Samuel, who died March 26, 1847, aged 57, and Nancy, his wife, December 27, 1860, aged 71; Harry; Ephraim, who died July 17, 1873, aged 68; Sally, who married Samuel Williams, (who died April 16, 1849, aged 63,) and is now living in Chicago; Margaret, who married Esbon Corbin; and Jeannette, who married Silas Betts.
Abraham Storms, from Coxsackie, and Henry Vorse, from Cherry Valley, came in as early as 1794, in which year they built, on the Tillotson farm, at the mouth of Crandall Creek, which empties into the Chenango about two and one-half miles above Greene village, the first grist-mill in the town. Storms brought in with him from the Hudson River country the stones for the mill, with a yoke of oxen. The mill did not stand many years, as every vestige of it was gone in 1807. The creek upon which it stood is now mostly dried up. Previously, the most accessible mill was at Tioga Point.
Storms settled first in the locality of the mill. He afterwards removed to the farm now occupied by John M. Chappell, on the east side of the river, about two miles above Chenango Forks, where both he and his wife died a good many years ago. None of his children are living. Vorse's children living are: Polly, widow of Jonas Underwood, in Illinois; Betsey, widow of Zenas Chase, in Michigan; and William, probably in Minnesota. All of his children removed from the town at an early day, except Urania, who married Samuel Race, and lived in the town till her death, November 6, 1866.
About this year (1794) settlements were made on the west side of the river, a few miles below Brisbin, by Derrick Race and John Hollenbeck. Race, who was born June 24, 1770, came from Egremont, Mass., having previously been here as a surveyor. He settled two miles above Greene, on the farm now owned and occupied by his son Derrick, and known as the Race Farm. He died there June 17, 1857, and Hannah, his wife, who was born July 2, 1770, January 7, 1861. His children, in addition to Derrick, were William B., now living in Oxford, aged 84; Abigail, widow of William Race, in Greene; Christina, wife of Erastus Brown; Charles T. and Stephen A., in Chicago; Nicholas, who died April 24, 1873, aged 79, and Annie, his wife, August 23, 1874, aged 78; Lucretia, who married Erastus Tremain, who died seven or eight years ago; George T., who died June 2, 1850, aged 49; and Smith, who died July 31, 1877, aged 71. Many of Race's grandchildren are living in Greene and Oxford.
Settlements were made from 1792 to 1795 on the Chenango road, in the south part of the town, by Nathan Bennett, Joshua Root, Eleazur Skinner, Thomas and Joab Elliott, Roswell Fitch, Aden Elliott, Philo Clemmons and Captain Mandeville, who located in the order named from west to east. Bennett settled on the farm now occupied by his grandson, Oliver Bennett, on Page Brook, and died there. Aden Elliott opened the second tavern in town in 1795.
David Parsons came from Armenia, Dutchess county, in 1794-96, with his family, and settled on the west bank of the river, about a mile above Chenango Forks, where the widow of John Ockerman now lives. About 1810 he removed to the place now occupied by the family of his son, Alva, in the upper part of the village of Chenango Forks, where he died about 1873. Chauncey Parsons, who was born in the last named locality, Oct. 13, 1810, and now resides in that village, is the only one of his children living. Alva died May 22, 1871, aged 75.
In 1796, Isaac Rosa settled on the east of the river, on the farm now owned by David Baird, about two miles above Greene. He subsequently kept a public house, at Genegantslet, where most of the public business of the vicinity was done. He was elected the second Supervisor of the town, in 1799, and was re-elected for five years. He was a man of marked character in the early settlement of the town. He was the first master of the Eastern Light Lodge. He removed to Waterloo, Seneca county, about 1818, and died there about 1838. Settlements were made in the south part of the town, west of the river, as early as 1796 by Elisha and Noah Gilbert, Stephen Palmer, Joseph and Cornish Messenger, and Peter and Jacobus Terwilliger. The Terwilligers, who were Dutchmen, were kinsmen, and came from the Esopus country, though Jacobus is believed to have come immediately from the Mohawk country. Peter settled about a mile north of Chenango Forks, where Cyrenus, son of Hiram Terwilliger, now lives, and Jacobus, two miles north of that village, where Simon S. Terwilliger now lives. Both died where they settled. Peter was the father of Captain Herman Terwilliger, and Jacobus of James.
Nathan Smith was born in Massachusetts in 1781, came in from Dutchess county with his mother in 1799 and settled on lot number 77, upon which he was the first settler. Underhill Miller, from the New England States, settled at Brisbin, and Benjamin Robbins, Daniel Brooks, Peter Perry, David Fitch and Eseck L. Hartshorn, at Greene village, previous to 1800. Squire Loren Miller, of Brisbin, is a son of Underhill. Hartshorn settled on the east side of the river, on a portion of the lands formerly occupied by the French colonists. He removed from the town with his family after a residence of eight or ten years. With the exception of Miller none of their descendants are living here.
Henry Beals, who was born December 31, 1790, came in about 1800 with his mother and sister and settled in the village of Greene. He was a carpenter and joiner and built most of the frame houses in that village. He married Ruth, daughter of Samuel Martin, of Coventry, who was born August 14, 1801, and died January 1, 1833. He died November 24, 1852, leaving two sons and two daughters, all of whom are living. William, the eldest son, is a prominent man in the town of Barker, of which he has been supervisor for the last twenty years. DeWitt, the other son, moved west about 1840 to '45, and is now a prominent teacher there. His daughters are Susan, who married a Mr. Stoddard, of Coventry, where she is now living; and Clarissa, a maiden lady, who is living with her mother, Beal's second wife, in Greene village.
Edmond Harrington, Joel Winston and Jared Page, settled on Page Brook, in 1801.
Lyman Noble, Daniel Boardman, Herman Carter, Joseph Anderson, Joseph Winchell, David Winchell, Zachariah and Ezra Whitmarsh and William Driskall, settled on the Genegantslet as early as 1801.
Carter settled first on the western bounds of the town, on the place since known as the Boughton farm; and when the Catskill and Ithaca turnpike was completed he located upon it and kept a public house at Genegantslet Corners. He raised a large family, many of whom are still living. He died Jan. 16, 1846, aged 82; and Mariam, his wife, Jan. 17, 1838, aged 73. David Winchell died May 17, 1873, aged 79, and his wife, Philura, Oct. 4, 1853, aged 53. The Whitmarshes came in from the Hudson River country, from the locality of Coxsackie, and settled a mile above the Corners, on farms adjoining that of Eli Webb. Both died in the town, Ezra on the homestead, which is now occupied in part by his grandson, Ceber Whitmarsh. Aber Whitmarsh, who is living near Brisbin, is the only survivor of Ezra's children. Zachariah had two sons and four daughters, two of the latter of whom are living, Rheuama, widow of Earlman Rogers, near Whitney's Point, and Belinda, wife of Peter Perkins, in Smithville.
As early as 1802, Elisha Smith, Thomas Wattles, Hial Wattles, Jacob Holt, Platt Brush, Sherman Boardman, John Boardman, Stephen Ketchum, Jr., Daniel Ketchum, Chandler Cummings, Joseph Rundall, Elias Forbes, and Reuben Wilder had made settlements on or near the site of Greene village; and Solomon and Benjamin Harrington, Waters Hine, Asel Stockwell, Elihu Spencer, Samuel A. Skeel, James Burroughs, George Byram, Benjamin Townsend and Daniel Low in the south-west part of the town.
Elisha Smith was the first local agent of the Hornby estate, receiving his appointment in 1802, and all the sales on the Chenango Triangle from that period to 1812, when he resigned the agency and removed to Norwich, were made by him.12 He procured the survey of the village of Greene in 1806, and to him the residents of that village are indebted for its spacious streets. He erected in 1803 the first building in the village on the corner occupied by the Rathbone Block, which he occupied as a dwelling and store. He was for several years Judge of the Common Pleas of Chenango county. He was a man of much enterprise, and his character was venerated by the early settlers. He died in Norwich about 1825. He was the father of Elisha B. Smith, Colonel of the 114th regiment, who was killed at the head of his regiment at Port Hudson in 1863.
Thomas Wattles was a brother-in-law of Elisha Smith's. He built, in 1803, the first frame house, for a tavern, on the site of the Chenango House, which stood till the latter was built, having been several times repaired and remodeled. It was first kept for some years by Wattles. Hial Wattles was Thomas' brother. Both removed from the town previous to 1814. Thomas was afterwards engaged in establishing mail routes in various parts of the State. Joseph Holt was from the Eastern States and settled and died on the site of Frank V. Turk's residence, in the village of Greene. His wife died before him. He had not children. He had charge of supply trains during the Revolutionary war and was popularly known as Colonel. Platt Brush settled just north of the farm now occupied by Lewis Juliand, within the corporation of Greene. He removed at an early day to Oxford. John and Sherman Boardman, brothers, settled near the village of Greene, and about 1812 removed to Genegantslet, where they died. Their children removed from the town at an early day. Chandler Cummings settled first in the neighborhood of the village. He was then a single man, but afterwards married and removed to the place now occupied by his son, James C., about two miles north of Greene. One other son, Edwin, is living on the homestead farm. Joseph Rundall was a blacksmith in the village and removed from the town at an early day. His wife was a stout, robust, masculine woman, well fitted for pioneer life and was known to cut beech trees two feet in diameter to browse her cattle. Their son, Johnstone Rundall, was the first child born in the town, an honor which was subsequently suitably acknowledged by a gift to the mother of a deed for fifty acres of land from the Hornby estate. Elias Forbes took up the farm now owned by Henry Matteson, about two miles north of the village. After two years he removed to the farm which now forms a part of the one owned by his son Aaron Forbes, and died there. Captain Samuel A. Skeel afterwards settled near Brisbin, on the west side of the river. He was a surveyor and afterwards became a Universalist minister. He was a man of fine native endowments, conspicuous mental vigor and strong reasoning powers. He removed to the western part of the State about 1830 and pursued his calling in the ministry until his death in 1856.
Captain Joseph Tillotson came in from the Hudson River country about the beginning of the century and settled on the west side of the river, about three miles above Greene, on the farm now occupied by George Chamberlain, who married his grand-daughter, Augusta Tillotson. He was a man of great industry and frugality and acquired a large tract of land, including 1,000 acres in one body. He and his wife died on the homestead. His children were Sabrina, who married William B. Race and died April 11, 1833, aged 37; Jeremiah, who is still living in Oxford; and Silas, who died April 14, 1872, aged 62.
Garry Rice came in from Connecticut soon after 1800 and settled on Page Brook, in the east part of the town. He is still living on the east side of the river, about two miles below Greene, aged 85 years. Five children are living: Maria, wife of William Lament, in Coventry; Phebe, wife of John Flagg, in Binghamton; and Robert; Amanda M., widow of William Parker and proprietor of the Chenango House; William; and Lucy, wife of Nehemiah Sherwood, a milliner, all in Greene.
David Bradley settled in 1803, and William Bates as early as that year. Bradley came in from Kent, Litchfield county, Conn., and being in good circumstances, took up considerable land, for which he paid down. He settled half a mile above Genegantslet, the farm being now in the possession of A. B. Robinson. August 29, 1803, he deeded to his sons, Zachariah and Smith, the farm, a part of which is now occupied by Philo Webb. He died upon the farm upon which he settled, May 30, 1837, aged 84, and Lydia, his wife, on the farm next above it with her son David, July 30, 1845, aged 83. His children were: Zachariah and Smith, who settled on the farm now owned by Philo Webb, and the former of whom died March 24, 1863, aged 83, and his wife, Lodema, May 23, 1846, aged 68, and the latter October 15, 1816, aged 35; David, who was born in Kent, Conn., October 31, 1784, married Sally, daughter of Stephen Ketchum, settled on a farm of 120 acres, given him by his father, and now owned by Daniel Bradley, a grandson of the elder David, and died there March 25, 1872; Timothy, a single man, who lived with his parents and died May 13, 1818, aged 28; Orlow, who lived on the homestead, and was for many years a Magistrate; Mercy Fanny, afterwards wife of Dr. Levi Farr, who was born in Kent, Conn., February 14, 1787, and died February 28, 1847; and another daughter, who married a man named Beckwith, then living in Triangle; all of whom are dead. Daniel D. Bradley, Rachel, wife of Nathaniel Moore, Mercy, widow of Robert Edwards, and Maria, wife of William Harrington, all living in Greene, and Mary, wife of James Cromby, living in Brooklyn, are grandchildren of the elder David.
William Bates also came from Connecticut. He settled on Crandall Creek (named from David Crandall, an early settler,) about three miles above Greene, where he died about 1810. The farm is now owned by Derrick Race. He had three sons, Loren, who is a clock-maker in Connecticut, Harris, who is living in Greene, and William, who went west some thirty years ago. His daughters were: Laura, afterwards wife of Hiram Bartoo, father of George Bartoo, a hardware merchant in Greene; and Ann, widow of George T. Race, (who died June 2, 1850, aged 49,) now living in Greene.
Samuel Ladd, the most prominent tanner in this part of the State, and a brother-in-law of Elisha Smith, came in about 1803, and settled in the north part of Greene village, on the place now occupied by Albert Mead. His tannery, which was a large one, stood directly opposite his residence. He carried on the tanning business some twelve or fourteen years, when he sold out to Robert Wilson and removed to Sherburne, where he died. None of his family are living there. Wilson came in company with a man named Barden, who settled directly north of the residence of Lewis Juliand. Both were sea captains, and were driven from the ocean by the embargo of 1812. They were high-toned men and bitter politicians. Both removed from the town in the latter part of 1815.
John Upham, a poor, but energetic, thorough-going Dutchman, came in from the Hudson river country about 1804, and settled in the village and died there. He had considerable of a family, most of whom are dead. John, his eldest son, and Thomas, the next eldest, born August 21, 1802, were good thrifty farmers, and lived and died in the town, the former Sept. 5, 1863, aged 65, and the latter April 10, 1873. Elizabeth B., wife of John, who resided in the vicinity of Genegantslet, died June 26, 1863, aged 74. He had two or three daughters, who married and settled in the town.
Samuel Peck came in from the New England States about 1805 and settled in the north part of the town, on the farm now occupied by Mr. Culver, where he died April 1, 1860, aged 79, and his wife, Betsey, July 6, 1864, aged 80. He was well educated and a worthy man and a prominent member of the Congregational church in Greene. He raised a large and respectable family of whom three sons, Daniel, Philo and Asahel, and one daughter Clarissa, widow of Levi Morse and mother of E. C. and Edward Morse, merchants in Greene, are living in this town.
Eli Webb came in from Egremont, Massachusetts, where he was born July 19, 1771, in 1806, and settled on the west side of Genegantslet creek, a mile above the corners of that name, on the farm now occupied by Stephen Davis, whose father Dow Davis was an early settler in the same locality and died there, he and his second wife, Cloe, the former June 6, 1871, aged 90, and the latter July 2, 1852, aged 57. Mr. Webb died on the place May 3, 1846, and Polly, his wife, July 27, 1854, aged 72. He had three children, all of whom are living, Sarah, wife of Heman Carter, in the village of Greene; Ann, (widow of Moses B. Adams, who died March 9, 1873, aged 67,) in Smithville Flats, with her daughter, Mrs. Benjamin Brown; and Philo, (his wife, Mary E., died Oct. 4, 1875, aged 64,) near Genegantslet. Nathan Webb, brother of Eli, came in from Massachusetts, about the same time and settled on Brag Pond Brook where Harris Monk now lives. He resided there a good many years and moved to Triangle and died near there. None of his descendants are living in the town. One son, Mason, died here; the rest of the children removed from the town. Other early settlers were Col. John Forbes, who settled on the Genegantslet as early as 1807, and removed, about 1845, to Batavia, where he now resides, "in the yellow leaf of old age," "enjoying the conscious reflection of a well spent life," Henry Birdsall; the Terwilliger Bros., Solomon, Barney, Herman and Simon; and Levi Farr, Elisha Ladd and Jeduthan Gray, who also settled on the Genegantslet as early as 1807. Henry Birdsall was from Westchester county, and settled among the first on the east bank of the Chenango, a little below the Storms farm, on the place now occupied by the family of his grandson, John Birdsall, who died there in the spring of 1879.
Mr. Malcolm Douglass Hurlburt was born in Broome Co., New York, in 1829.
He was the son of Mr. Isaac A. Hurlburt of that county. His early boyhood life was dissimilar from that of many at his age, as he early manifested a taste for books and an anxious desire for knowledge. But owing to the limited means of his father, he was compelled to put forth every effort possible to avail himself of even the meager chances offered in the common district school. But his determined purpose enabled him to persevere and in the face of many difficulties secure something of an education. Fitting himself for the vocation of a school teacher he successfully engaged in that work for several years, aiding to mold the lives of many who are now living and respected. Turning his attention to farming he purchased a farm of some 200 acres which he thoroughly improved. Not resting with this he purchased a second farm in Chenango county.
From early life he gave considerable attention to the care and training of horses. Such was his admiration and fondness for the horse that he devoted much time to the education and training of them in speed and various tricks. The well known horse Mazeppa was owned and trained by his partner, Mr. Rockwell.
On November 4th, 1873, he left VanCouver's Island for California, on board the steamer Pacific with a span of well trained horses, but he with the other passengers, little realized the fate before them, for in a few hours the steamer collided with the ship Orpheus. The steamer sank instantly and all on board were lost except two. Thus ended the life of the husband and father.
October 3d, 1852, he was married to Miss Lucy Ann Holcomb, the daughter of Ashbel Holcomb of Broome county. She was born in 1829.
The fruits of this marriage, (six children,) are Mary E., born in 1854; Lucy E., born in 1856; Douglass M., who died at the age of six and a half; Lottie Jane, born in 1860; Watson, born in 1862; Guy, born in 1866; and Genevieve, born in 1871.
Henry and his son Henry also died there, the latter about a year ago. Deborah, widow of Amos Parsons, now living on the homestead is believed to be the only one of the children of the elder Henry living. The Terwilligers were Dutchmen and came in from Amsterdam. Solomon, Barney and Simon settled in the "sap bush," in the south part of the town, Solomon, on the farm now owned and occupied by his grandson Solomon Terwilliger, where he and his son Deacon Simon died, the former August 21, 1826, aged 78, and his wife Gitty, Feb. 29, 1817, aged 60, and the latter October 19, 1876, aged 80, and his wife, Matilda, April 27, 1878, aged 75; Barney, on the farm now owned and occupied by Theodore Terwilliger, a grandson of Solomon's where he died; and Simon, on the farm now owned and occupied by his grandson, Simon S. Terwilliger, where he also died. They came in single young men, but subsequently married, and leave numerous descendants now living in the town. Harmon B. Terwilliger, son of Barney, now residing in Triangle, is believed to be the only one of their children living. Philo B. Palmer, another early settler, was a native of Pennsylvania and became a resident of this town in 1810. He was a mechanic and enlarged and beautified the public house in the village, of which he was for several years the owner. He was a man of literary attainments, and removed to his native State in 1825.
The Birdsall family, though not as early in their settlement as many others, deserve mention from their business and social prominence.
Colonel Benjamin Birdsall came to Greene from Hillsdale, Columbia county, in 1816, accompanied by his three sons, Benjamin, George and Maurice, all middle-aged men, with families, who also became residents of the town. James Birdsall, another son, settled at Norwich a few years previous, and was engaged in legal and banking business. He was an active politician and represented the 15th district in Congress from 1815 to 1817, and this county in the Assembly in 1827.
Colonel Birdsall held a colonel's commission in the Revolutionary war and represented Columbia county in the Assembly in 1792, '3, '6 and 1804, and in the State Convention in 1801. He was a man of much enterprise, great force of character, urbane and gentlemanly, and possessed of an unusual share of mental vigor. He died in Greene, Oct. 8, 1818, aged 84 years, and Elizabeth, his wife, September 9, 1836, aged 83.
Benjamin Birdsall, Jr., his eldest son, was a man of much intellectual force, and was a magistrate for many years. He resided for many years a few miles west of Greene village. His children were: Colonel Benjamin, an officer in the war of 1811, and while in command of the military station at Greenbush, in 1818, was shot and killed by one of his soldiers, a crime for which the latter was executed; Samuel, an attorney at Waterloo, Seneca county, who represented the 25th District in Congress from 1837 to 1839, and died in 1872; William, who was a physician in Wayne, Steuben county; Betsey, who married Noah Ely, of New Berlin; Melinda, a maiden lady, who died some years since in Pennsylvania; and George, a farmer in Pennsylvania.
James Birdsall, son of Colonel Benjamin, of Revolutionary fame, settle in Norwich, as before stated. His children were: Henry, an attorney in Addison, Steuben county; Benjamin and Maurice, Merchants at Fentonville, Mich.; Adelaide, who married William Fenton, of Norwich, who was subsequently Lieutenant-Governor of Michigan; Sarah, wife of Henry Dillaye, of Syracuse; and Elizabeth, Rispah and Catherine, who reside in San Francisco.
George Birdsall, son of Colonel Benjamin, was a physician in Greene. He had two daughters, one who married Mr. Perkins, a teller in the Bank of Norwich, and subsequently a clergyman now residing in Springfield, Ill.; and Charlotte, wife of Rev. Mr. Payne, residing in the same place.
Maurice, son of Colonel Benjamin Birdsall, was a farmer and lived in the village of Greene. He was a man of high social standing, upright and universally esteemed. He died Jan. 7, 1852, aged 77. His first wife was Ann Pixley, of Columbia county, who died June 12, 1829, aged 51. He subsequently married Ann Purple, of Greene, who still survives him. He had eight children: John, an early lawyer in Greene;13 Anna, who married Alvah Hunt, an early merchant and prominent man in Greene, and died February 20, 1878; Polly, who married Hon. Thomas A. Johnson, (who was elected Supreme Court Justice for the 7th District June 7, 1847, and held that office till his death, in 1872,) and died in 1865; Benjamin, who was a well-to-do farmer in Wisconsin, and removed in 1871, with his numerous family, to Iowa; Emeline, who married Robert O. Reynolds, a very respectable lawyer in Greene; Maurice, Jr., who married Elizabeth Juliand, of Bainbridge, and after her death, Maria Randall, of Norwich, and who has been actively engaged in mercantile and other pursuits in Greene nearly forty years, and who is now extensively engaged in the produce business; Louisa, who married the late Judge Washington Barnes, of Steuben county, and died in 1859; and James, a physician in Wisconsin.
The following, illustrative of the character of and hardships and privations endured by the early settlers of this town, we quote from Dr. Purple's contributions before referred to:---
"The pioneer settlers of this town, at least for the first few years, were the subjects of great privations. Their roads were little else than Indian paths along the streams. The canoe was the principal mode of conveyance. Their corn was pounded and converted into samp by means of a mortar made in the end of a section of a log with a pestle suspended by a sweep, or taken to Tioga point, a distance of sixty miles, to a mill. These journeys were made in a canoe, and occupied several days.
"The road on the west side of the river was first traveled in 1794. That on the east side was not used until some years later. The road on the Genegantslet was made passable in 1802. Edward Loomis, in the employ of the Hornby estate, cut the road from Oxford to Smithville Flats in 1804.14 The road north from Conrad Sharp's was cut through the same year.
"The Susquehanna and Bath Turnpike, which passed east and west through the town, was made in 1807. The first bridge over the Chenango was built the same year.
"They (the first settlers,) mostly came from the New England States, though many of them had settled in the eastern counties of this State. They came poor. Few were able to even make a small payment for their lands. Much want and even suffering was the consequence. But common necessities produced common sympathy. They evinced to the new-comers the spirit of genuine hospitality, and in all the relations of life, from the raising of the log-cabin to the supplying the destitute at their tables, they exhibited more the spirit of family affection than of mere neighborhood sympathy.
"Their only resources were derived from the manufacture of shingles for the Baltimore markets; or in felling the trees of the forest, cutting and burning them, and from the ashes making black salts for an Eastern market; and until they could have time to clear the land and raise food from the earth, they were very dependent on their more fortunate neighbors. This appeal was responded to with alacrity, 'not grudgingly,' but freely, even to the dividing of the last loaf. In this respect, at least, they exhibited Christian principles that would not unfavorably contrast with their more fortunate and refined descendants."
TOWN OFFICERS.---The first town meeting was held at the house of Conrad15 Sharp, the first Tuesday in April, 1798. Nathaniel Kellogg was Moderator. The following named officers were elected:---
Town Clerk---John Hollenbeck.16
Assessors---James Wiley, Isaac Perry and Allen Butler.
Poormasters---Abijah Loomis and Aden Elliott.
Commissioners of Highways---Record Wilbur, Daniel Perry and Jacob Pease.
Constable and Collector---Peter Perry.
Path-masters---Elijah Fitch, Daniel Curtis, James Smith, Stephen Ketchum, Daniel Perry, Conrad Sharp, Jacob Pease, Nathan Bennett, Daniel Trimmon, (probably Tremain,) and Charles Hunt.
School Commissioners---James Wiley, Nathaniel Kellogg and Jacob Pease.
Fence Viewer---Derrick Race.
Isaac Rosa was elected Supervisor in 1799, and held that office till 1804, in which year he was superseded by Elisha Smith, who held the office till 1809.
The following list of the officers of the town of Greene, for the year 1880-'81, was kindly furnished by John C. Stoughton:---
Supervisor---Joseph E. Juliand.
Town Clerk---John C. Stoughton.
Justices---Lucius T. Darby, George W. Lenderson, Miles Johnson and William G. Welch.
Assessors---Samuel P. Thomas, Charles W. Van Valkenburg and Austin D. Kinsman.
Commissioner of Highways---Abel H. Smith.
Overseer of the Poor---Ransom Page.
Constables---Oscar E. Merrill, D. S. H. Buck, Jas. P. Smith and Benjamin F. Parsons.
Collector---Oscar E. Merrill.
Inspectors of Election---District No. 1, Elwyn E. Race, Thomas H. Oliver and A. Hunt Smith; District No. 2, John Winter, A. B. Holcomb and Reuben S. Bowe.
Town Auditors---Fred S. Race, Richard W. Tenbroeck and Henry D. Race.
Sealer of Weights and Measures---John W. Bennett.
Game Constable---Fred Dedrick.
Excise Commissioners---Philo Peck, Benjamin S. Hayes and David Sherwood.
Overseer of Bridges---Azariah Bolt.
This village is beautifully situated in the valley of the Chenango, and presents a highly picturesque appearance when viewed from the surrounding hills. It lies in the center of the town, upon both sides of the river, (which is spanned by a substantial wooden bridge, resting upon stone piers,) nine miles by rail above Chenango Forks. It is on the line of the Utica branch of the D., L. & W. R. R., which connects with the main line of that road at Chenango Forks. The Chenango Canal passes through the village near the center, and crosses the river upon an aqueduct near its south boundary. This once important highway of commerce is now practically abandoned.
The village was laid out in 1806, under the direction of Elisha Smith, who was then agent of the Hornby estate, and named Hornby; but as the postoffice was called Greene the recorded name of Hornby never came into general use. It was incorporated April 12, 1842, and has a population of about 1,200. The first village officers, who were elected the first Tuesday in May of that year, were: Joseph Juliand, (deceased,) Lyman D. Lewis, (now residing in New York city,) Egbert C. Reynolds, (deceased,) Robert B. Monell, (deceased,) and George R. Lyon, (still residing in the village,) Trustees. Lewis Juliand, (still residing in the village,) John H. Sherwood, (now residing in New York city,) and George R. Lyon, Assessors. W. Cushman, Treasurer. S. S. Nichols, (deceased,) Clerk; and Myron Cowles, Collector. At a meeting of the Trustees, held May 10, 1842, Robert B. Monell was elected President.
Following is a list of the Presidents and Clerks since the incorporation of the village:---
PRESIDENTS. CLERKS. 1842-3. Robert B. Monell. S. S. Nichols. 1844. Joseph Juliand. William Irvine. 1845. Alvah Hunt. Charles Squires. 1846. Augustus Willard. Elisha M. Hawley 1847.17 _____ _____ G. W. Griswold. 1848. John H. Sherwood. E. N. Hawley. 1849. Robert B. Monell L. R. Hitchcock 1850. J. G. Reynolds. do. 1851. A. D. Adams. Frank Cunningham. 1852. S. S. Nichols. C. F. G. Cunningham. 1853. do. C. M. Brown. 1854. do. E. B. Jackson. 1855. do. Charles H. Barnard. 1856-8. M. Birdsall.18 C. C. Willard. 1859. Joseph Wilson. do. 1860. do. George W. Baker 1861. C. C. Willard. do. 1862-3. L. R. Hitchcock. Samuel A. Willard 1864. Peter B. Rathbone. do.19 1865-6. William F. Russell. George W. Baker.20 1867. M. Birdsall Chas. F. G. Cunningham. 1868. Peter B. Rathbone. Joseph E. Juliand. 1869. Rob't P. Barnard. do. 1870. M. Birdsall. C. F. G. Cunningham.21 1871-2. Curtis Winston. H. W. Frost. 1873-4. do. E. J. Arnold. 1875-6. J. E. Juliand. do. 1877 John W. Davidson. do. 1878. Jesse E. Bartoo. do. 1879. John W. Davidson. M. F. Porter.
The present officers (1879) are: John W. Davidson, President; Maurice Birdsall, Joseph E. Juliand, Robert P. Barnard and J. D. Van Valkenburgh, Jr., Trustees; George H. Bartoo, Harvey June, Jr., and Nathan Smith, Assessors; W. F. Russell, Treasurer; M. F. Porter, Clerk; Charles P. Matteson, Collector; Frank V. Turk, Chief Engineer; Orlando F. Cowles, Assistant Engineer; L. M. Johnson, M. D., Health Officer; George H. Bartoo, E. B. Jackson, William F. Purple, William G. Welch and J. B. Hunting, Board of Health; Azariah Bolt, Pathmaster; John W. Davidson and J. D. Van Valkenburgh, Jr., Fire Wardens.
Greene contains four churches, (Congregational, Episcopal, Baptist and Methodist Episcopal,) a Union school, two hotels, a newspaper off, (The Chenango American,) a private bank, twenty-four stores of various kinds, a butter firkin manufactory, a grist-mill, a steam saw-mill, a foundry and machine shop, six blacksmith shops, (kept by John J. Harris, John F. Smith, B. S. Hayes, Joseph Anderson, Fredenburgh & Johnson and Norton Barnes,) two carriage shops, (kept by Jesse Bartoo and T. B. Rowlison & Edward Belcher,) two cabinet shops and undertaking establishments, (John S. Atwater and Johnson & Graves, proprietors,) a cider mill, (owned by Ezra B. Wheeler,) a gun shop, (kept by E. K. Livermore,) a livery, (Ambrose W. Tafft, proprietor,) and the marble works of Jacob Warner.
MERCHANTS.---The first merchant in the village and in the town, was Elisha Smith, who came in from Norwich as the agent of the Hornby estate in 1802, and in 1803 opened a store in a frame building erected by him that year on the site of the Morse store, opposite the Chenango House, for the double purpose of a store and dwelling. He did business till his return to Norwich in 1812. The building he occupied was burned about 1836-'8. David Finn, the first postmaster, did business from 1805 to '17; and Osburn B. Scoville from about 1808 to '15, when he removed to Maryland. William Porter and ______ Taylor did business in company from about 1815 to '20 when they removed from the town. Simeon Hunt came in from Rhode Island, directly after the close of the war, in 1815 and traded till about 1819, when he went South to recuperated his health and died at Natchez of consumption in 1821, aged 36. He occupied the corner on which the Barnard store now stands.
Charles E. Barnard came in from Cooperstown in the fall of 1820 and bought an acre of ground and the store which occupied the site of the present post-office and in which David Finn previously did business. In the spring of 1821 he opened a stock of goods there and the following year formed a partnership with William Hatch, who was elected sheriff of the county in November, 1837, serving one term of three years. This partnership continued till 1837, when it was dissolved. Barnard continued the business and the same year formed a partnership with Frederick Meloy, which continued one year. In 1838, his son, F. E. Barnard, became his partner and the business was conducted under the name of Barnard & Son till 1843, when they dissolved. F. E. continued until 1852, when he admitted his brother, Robert P. Barnard, to partnership, and the business was carried on under the name of F. E. Barnard & Bro., till 1855, when F. E. withdrew, and R. P. admitted his brother, Charles H. Barnard, with whom he continued till the death of the latter March 27, 1864, aged 32 years. R. P. Barnard has since carried on a general merchandise business alone. Charles E. Barnard built the Barnard store on the site now occupied by his son, in 1827. That building was burned in 1843, and the present block, which perpetuates his name, was built by him the same year. He died in July, 1850, aged 60; and his wife, Laurinda, in April, 1873, aged 75.
Asa Whitney, William Porter and Warren Gray commenced business under the name of Whitney, Porter & Gray about 1822, and continued about a year.
Alvah Hunt and Col. Elijah Rathbone, the latter of whom came in from Oxford, commenced mercantile business in 1823, and in 1837 associated with themselves William Hatch, under the name of Rathbone, Hunt & Hatch; they built the latter year the Chenango House on the site of the first public house in the village. In 1844 Messrs. Hatch & Hunt withdrew, and Mr. Rathbone admitted to the partnership Benjamin H. Thurber, with whom he did business till his death, June 21, 1849, when Peter B. Rathbone succeeded to his father's interest. They closed out the business about 1852. Mr. Hunt was a younger brother of Simeon Hunt. He represented the sixth district in the State Senate in 1839, '40, '41 and '42, and was elected State Treasurer Nov. 2, 1847; serving two successive terms of two years each. He removed to New York at the expiration of his second term in 1851, and died there October 28, 1858. Anna, his wife, died February 20, 1878. Mr. Rathbone was a man of great energy, industry and perseverance and was a very prominent man in the town. He was born April 24, 1792, and continued his residence in the village till his death. Mr. Hatch went to Batavia, where he lived in retirement some time and was suffocated there, he and his niece, by breathing charcoal fumes in their room. Peter B. Rathbone was supervisor of the town in 1858, and Sheriff of the county from 1858 to '61. In 1867 he removed to Syracuse, where he now resides, and is the senior partner of the firm of Rathbone & Knapp, proprietors of a planing-mill in that city.
The Juliand brothers, Joseph, Lewis, Frederick and George, commenced business in 1830 under the name of J. Juliand & Bros., and dissolved in 1840. Frederick continued the business till 1862, when he transferred it to his son, John R. Juliand, who associated with himself as partner Henry Miner. In 1866 they discontinued business here and removed to Binghamton. The Juliand brothers are sons of Captain Joseph Juliand, who is referred to in connection with the early settlement of this town, and all are still living here, except Joseph, who died in 1870. Frederick Juliand was also engaged in the produce commission business, which he still continues. Arad and William W. Gilbert, from the eastern part of the State, commenced business under the name of A. & W. W. Gilbert in 1831, and continued about three years, when Arad removed to Massachusetts and William to the West.
John W. Carter, dealer in hats and caps, came in from Norwich in 1835, and commenced business July 21st of that year, which he still continues. He was associated with Charles A. Wheeler as partner from 1864 to '70.
Maurice Birdsall commenced the mercantile business in company with Willis Sherwood in 1839, and continued with him three or four years. He was subsequently associated with various partners till about 1863, when he discontinued the mercantile business and engaged in banking, in company with Lewis S. Hayes, continuing about three years. He then engaged in the produce commission business, which he has since conducted quite extensively.
L. D. Lewis came in from Sharon, N. Y. in 1834, and carried on the business of harness-maker till the opening of the canal in 1836, when he built the store-house recently occupied by the late Thomas J. Cole, in which he did a storage and forwarding business till 1854, when, having for the three or four latter years been engaged also in the sale of dry goods he removed to New York City where he now resides. The business was continued here by his son-in-law, C. F. G. Cunningham, till his death, Oct. 13, 1878, when his wife, E. C. Cunningham, daughter of L. D. Lewis, succeeded to the business, which she still continues, dealing in fancy and dry goods.
Eugene Bushman came in from Otsego county about 1842 and did business some eight or ten years.
William F. Russell was born in Monticello, Sullivan county, N. Y., and carried on the mercantile business there from 1834 to 1851. He married Oct. 17, 1849, Miss Cornelia Juhel Juliand, daughter of Col. Joseph Juliand, of Greene, and in April, 1851, removed to this town. He built his present residence in the summer of 1851, and engaged in mercantile business here in September of that year, in the block now used as a bank, continuing till March 1, 1859. The following June he engaged in private banking with his father-in-law, Joseph Juliand, continuing till the death of the latter, Feb. 13, 1870, when he became associated in the same business with his brother-in-law, Joseph E. Juliand, with whom he still continues the business under the name of Russell & Juliand.
Dr. Wm. D. Purple, dealer in books and stationery, who had formerly practiced medicine in the village for several years, commenced mercantile business in 1853, and still continues it.
Samuel Walker, dealer in boots and shoes, commenced business in 1853, in company with C. B. Wheeler, whose interest he bought after the expiration of a little over a year. He has since done business alone, with the exception of the years 1874 and'75, when his son-in-law, O. E. Merrell, was his partner.
Frank Turk, dealer in fruit and confectionery, commenced business in 1854, having been associated at different times as partner with S. A. Willard and George W. Baker, each about two years.
John S. Atwater, furniture dealer and undertaker, is a native of Homer and removed from German to Greene in 1855. In 1864 he commenced his present business, having been associated as partner from 1867 to '72 with A. P. Kelsey, whose interest he bought in 1872.
James Ramsey, grocer, came in from Smithville in 1865, and the following year commenced business in company with Charles Gray, whose interest he bought after about two years. With the exception of one and one-half years he has since done business along.
G. H. Bartoo commenced the hardware business in 1866, in company with T. D. Welch, who sold his interest to A. D. Martin, April 1, 1878, and the business has since been conducted under the firm name of Bartoo & Martin.
David Terwilliger, a native of Greene, commenced the grocery business in April, 1866, in company with C. B. Wheeler, who did business together under the name of C. B. Wheeler & Co. seven months, when Mr. Terwilliger purchased Wheeler's interest. He admitted Chester Race to partnership in 1869, and bought his interest in April, 1870, at which time William G. Rice became his partner and remained such three years and five months. Mr. Terwilliger has since done business alone.
Lucius T. Darby and Oramel Forbes commenced the mercantile business in 1866, and continued one year, when Mr. Darby bought Mr. Forbes' interest and took in as partner Chaplin B. Perkins, with whom he continued three years, when he sold his interest to Mr. Forbes, who, with Perkins, traded some three years.
E. C. Morse, dealer in dry goods, ready-made clothing &c., commenced the grocery business in 1866, in company with his uncle, S. M. Morse, who remained with him one year. His brother, Edgar D. Morse, became his partner in 1868, and his uncle again acquired an interest in 1871. The three did business together till October, 1872, when the brothers bought their uncle's interest and separated, E. C. abandoning the grocery business to his brother Edgar D., who has since continued it in a separate store, for five years, from 1873, in company with Albert Page. E. C. Morse has also carried on the confectionery and tobacconist business in another location since 1872, in which year he bought out S. P. Morse and John W. Davidson.
John W. Davidson, grocer, commenced business in 1872. He came into this town about 1838, from Triangle, from which town he removed to Connecticut, and to the village of Greene about 1854.
J. B. Hunting, jeweler, came in from Bainbridge, and commenced business in June, 1873.
L. Lombard, boot and shoe dealer, who was formerly engaged in farming in Greene, commenced his present business in the fall of 1874, in company with O. Lombard, whose interest he bought April 1, 1878.
Albert H. Shapley, jeweler, came from Hamilton in August, 1874, and in 1875 commenced his present business, which he has since continued.
F. L. Perkins, general merchant, came in from Whitney's Point, where he was engaged in the same business, in Oct., 1877.
J. S. Wood, druggist, who was formerly a resident of the village, commenced business in January, 1878.
Johnson & Graves, (S. M. Johnson and George D. Graves,) furniture dealers and undertakers, came in from Bainbridge, their native town, and commenced business in April, 1878.
James A. Harrison, druggist, who was formerly a resident of the village, commenced business May 1, 1878, at which time he bought out Dr. Marcus M. Wood, who commenced the drug business here in 1857.
Edward G. Kinney, hardware merchant, who was formerly a resident of the village, commenced business April 1, 1879.
G. H. Burlingame & Co., (L. Archambeault,) dealers in clothing, hats and caps, came in from Binghamton and commenced business in April, 1879.
Other merchants who have done business here, are: Calhoun & Conklyn, Benjamin Perkins, B. B. Reed, Glover & Perkins, in 1842; A. D. Adams, C. & A. Squires, Bingham & Maynard, Birdsall, Nichols & Lyon and Israel Baldwin, who are believed to have succeeded each other about in the order named.
POSTMASTERS.---The postoffice at Greene was established in 1807. The route on which it formed a station extended from Cooperstown, via Oxford, to Chenango Point (now Binghamton.) The first mail carrier was Charles Thorp. The village at first was supplied with a semi-monthly mail. A weekly mail was carried on this route, on horseback, as late as 1819, when a semi-weekly stage route was formed from Utica to Binghamton. In 1822 a tri-weekly stage route was formed from Catskill to Ithaca, which soon became a very general thoroughfare of travel. It was regarded as one of the best stage routes in the State.
The successive postmasters from 1807 to 1879 are as follows: David Finn from 1807-'10; Charles Josslyn, 1810-'24; E. B. Smith, 1824-'33; William M. Patterson, 1833-'34; Erastus Perkins, 1834-'36; Charles Squires, 1836-'41; Frederick Juliand, 1841-'45; Charles Squires, 1845-'49; Chester Bingham, 1849-'53; William D. Purple, 1853-'61; Lucius T. Darby, 1861-'66; Peter B. Rathbone, 1866-'69; and Charles B. Wheeler, the present incumbent, who was appointed April 14, 1869.
PHYSICIANS.---Dr. Guthrie was the first physician in the town. He settled on the river a mile or two below the village, but remained only a short time. Dr. Finch settled by Conrad Sharp's. He, too, remained but a short time.
Dr. Charles Josslyn was the first physician in the village. He came here from Butternuts, Otsego county, in 1805, and located first at Conrad Sharp's. The following year he removed to the village, where for twenty-one years he devoted himself to his professional duties with approbation and success. He was a man of mark among the settlers, and was honored with various responsible public trusts. He was postmaster at Greene for fourteen years, Justice for seventeen years, and County Judge for a like period. He removed from the town about 1826, and died in Windsor, while visiting one of his children there, in 1850.
Levi Farr, M. D., was born in Pittsfield, Mass., July 8, 1787, and removed to this town from Montgomery county in 1807. He settled first at Genegantslet, where he married Mercy Fanny, daughter of David Bradley, an early settler in that locality. He entered at once upon the active duties of his profession, and pursued them with untiring zeal and devotion to the interests of his patrons, who were widely scattered over a large section of sparsely settled country, mingling with his professional services kindly counsel and advice, which were as eagerly sought and for which he was not less highly respected. He "filled a large space in the public mind, and is gratefully remembered by his contemporaries." He removed to this village in 1825, and died here July 22, 1859. From his youth he was troubled with imperfect vision, and about 1840 became entirely blind. He accumulated a very handsome property, and gave by his will $4,000 as a permanent fund for the benefit of the common school in this village. He enjoyed in a large degree the confidence of his fellow-townsmen, who often elected him to positions of trust and responsibility. He was a Magistrate in the town for a number of years.
George Birdsall came in from Columbia county in 1816, and practiced more or less until his death. S. K. Bradley, son of David Bradley, practiced here from 1831 to about 1836. He removed to Ohio, and died there a few years after.
Augustus Willard, M. D., was born in 1800, and was the eldest son of Samuel Willard, M. D., of Stafford, Connecticut, who was graduated at Harvard college in 1787. He received a good common school and academic education and entered upon the study of medicine with Dr. Thomas of Cooperstown. In 1821 he entered the office of Dr. Charles Josslyn, of Greene, and there, and at Harvard Medical college, where he was graduated in 1823, completed his preparatory medical studies. He was graduated with a class of about forty and received the prize for the best Medical thesis. In 1824, at the written solicitation of a number of its citizens, he located in the village of Greene, where his strong intellectual powers, studious habits, critical research, and undivided application to professional duties soon gave him prominence among his contemporary practitioners. His long and exemplary professional career fully merited the generous confidence reposed in him by the entire community, as an honest, upright and skillful physician. In his professional associations the County, State and National organizations felt the influence of his talents and his ardent devotion to their interests. He was elected President of the State Medical Society, at the semi-centennial anniversary of that organization in Feb., 1857, and in 1858, he delivered the annual address before that Society, in the Assembly Chamber. Dr. Willard was a conspicuous and devoted member of the Masonic fraternity and was rewarded with its highest honors. His obsequies were numerously attended and conducted by members of that fraternity, the services being rendered by M. W. G. M., Clinton F. Paige of Binghamton. He died March 12th, 1868, aged 68, and Catharine S., his wife, April 3, 1845, aged 38.
C. Cameron Willard, M. D., son of Augustus Willard, M. D., was born Nov. 4th, 1828, and studied medicine with his father. He was graduated at New York, and practiced here about three years preceding his death which occurred Sept. 24th, 1862.
Charles S. Wood came in from Connecticut in 1851, and practiced here until about 1862, when he entered the army as surgeon. After leaving the army he went to California and subsequently to New York, where he is now in the full tide of successful practice.
George W. Roberts came in from Troy in 1840, and after spending two or three years on a farm, moved into the village and commenced the practice of medicine, which he continued till his death Feb. 10, 1870. He was the pioneer homeopathist in Chenango county.
The present physicians are: William D. Purple, Marcus M. Wood, Ralph B. Crandall, Leonard M. Johnson, Charles G. Roberts, and Geo. O. Williams.
William D. Purple, M. D., was born in Burlington, Otsego county, April 6, 1802. His father was Edward Purple, an early settler in the town of Smithville. Dr. Purple commenced the study of medicine with Dr. Charles Josslyn of Greene, in 1820, and remained with him four years. He afterwards continued his studies with Arthur Packer and Austin Rouse of Oxford. He was licensed to practice in 1824, and entered upon the duties of his profession in Bainbridge, where he remained six years, when he removed to Greene. He practiced here till 1853, when he abandoned the medical profession and engaged in mercantile business, which he still continues. Dr. Purple possesses a remarkably retentive memory, and his mind is a rich store-house of facts and incidents connected with the early settlements in this locality, with which he is probably more conversant than any other individual in the southern part of the county. His efforts to rescue from oblivion the intensely interesting facts which enter into the early chapters of the county's history, and which are rapidly passing out of the reach of the present generation, are worthy of the highest commendation and of more general emulation. He has been a liberal contributor to the periodical medical literature of the country, and in 1849, on the recommendation of the State Medical Society, received from the Regents of the University of this State, the Honorary Degree of M. D.
Marcus M. Wood, brother of Dr. Charles S. Wood, was born in Litchfield, Conn., August 1, 1833. He entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York in 1825, remaining that and the following year. He then entered the Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia, from which he was graduated in 1857. He commenced the practice of medicine in Greene April 1, 1857, and still continues it. He opened a drug store in the village in 1857, which he conducted till May 1, 1878, when he sold to James A. Harrison.
Ralph B. Crandall was born in Greene, December 27, 1819. He was graduated from the Pennsylvania Medical College of Philadelphia, which he entered in 1854, Feb. 21, 1856. He commenced practice at Montrose, Pa., in 1854, having previously studied medicine, the latter part of the time with Dr. Rufus R. Thayer of that village. He removed thence to Greene in the spring of 1858, and has since practiced here.
Leonard M. Johnson was born in Le Raysville, Pa., Jan. 24, 1830, and was educated at Franklin Seminary, Delaware county, and at Hamilton College. He entered the Albany Medical Institute in 1853 and was graduated in 1855. He commenced practice in Berkshire, Tioga county, in 1856, and in 1858, removed to Nebraska. In 1861 he entered the army as assistant surgeon in the 3d N. Y. Infantry and was promoted to the surgeoncy of that regiment in 1863. He left the army in 1865 and settled at Greene, where he has since practiced his profession.
Charles D. Roberts was born in Troy, N. Y., May 29, 1835, and commenced the study of medicine with his father, Dr. George W. Roberts, at Greene, in 1854. He commenced the practice of his profession here in April, 1870.
George O. Williams was born in Norwich, Conn., April 14, 1843, and commenced the study of medicine with his father, Dr. R. O. Williams, at Upper Lisle. He subsequently pursued his medical studies with Dr. S. H. French at Lisle. He entered the Albany Medical College in September, 1865, and was graduated in December, 1866. He commenced the practice of medicine in the Spring of 1867, at Smithville Flats, where he remained six years, when, in the spring of 1873, he removed to the village of Greene, where he has since practiced.
LAWYERS.---The first lawyer in the village of Greene was probably Hon. Robert Monell, a native of Columbia county, who removed to Binghamton in 1808, and opened a law office. John A. Collier was his contemporary practitioner there, and as there was not sufficient business to sustain both they cast lots to determine which one should leave. It fell to Monell's lot "to fold his tent." He selected this village as the scene of his future operations, and moved here in 1811. Thus Binghamton lost and Greene gained a most worthy citizen. In 1812 he succeeded Elisha Smith as agent of the Hornby estate, and discharged the duties of that office in connection with his legal practice till 1819, when he resigned them into other hands. His duties as land agent brought him into intimate relationship, and formed for him a favorable acquaintance with the residents of this section of country, and prepared the way for his subsequent public usefulness. He was elected to the Assembly from this county in 1813, and again in 1814, being the first of his townsmen thus honored. "In that body, in the dark hours of 1814, he faithfully performed his duty by sustaining the efforts of Gov. Tompkins, in upholding the arms of the national administration in its conflict with Great Britain." In 1818 he was elected to the 16th Congress from the 15th District, then composed of Broome, Chenango, and Otsego counties, and such was his popularity at that time, that, notwithstanding a strong party organization against him, he received but one opposing vote in his own town. In 1825, '6, '8, he again represented this county in the State Legislature; and in 1829, '31, the 21st District, then composed of Broome and Chenango counties, in the 21st Congress. He was District-attorney of Chenango county in 1827. February 11, 1831, he was appointed Circuit Judge of the 6th Circuit, which office he held till 1845, when he was appointed Clerk of the Supreme Court, and removed to Geneva, which was one of the four places in the State where the Supreme Court Clerk's office was located. He remained there in that office till the County Clerks were constituted Ex-Officio clerks of the Supreme Court, under the Constitution of 1846, when he returned to Greene and resumed the practice of his profession, which he continued until his death in December, 1860, aged 74 years.
Hon. John Birdsall became a resident of the village in 1816. He had received a liberal education at some of the eastern colleges, and entered the office of Judge Monell as student. He was admitted to the bar before attaining his majority and became the law partner of his preceptor. "He signalized himself as a man of marked character, and held a conspicuous place at the Bar." In 1823, he removed to Mayville, Chautauqua county, where his shining abilities soon attracted attention and led to his appointment, April 18, 1826, as Circuit Judge of the 8th Circuit. He was then only 25 years old. He fixed his residence at Rochester during his judgeship, which he resigned in 1829 and returned to Mayville. In 1831 he represented Chautauqua county in the Assembly, and in 1832, '3, and '4, he represented the 8th District in the State Senate. In 1837 he removed to Texas and formed a law partnership with General Samuel Houston, then President of the Republic of Texas, and was Attorney-General of the "Lone Star" State till his death in 1839.
John J. Taylor read law in the office of Judge Monell and practiced here a year or two, about 1834 or '5, when he removed to Owego, where he now resides.
Nathan Chamberlin, a brother-in-law of Judge Monell, was for some time in partnership with him here. He was appointed surrogate of this county July 8, 1819, and county clerk June 7, 1820, in which year he removed to Norwich, where he was postmaster for some years, and died about 1828.
Adam G. Ransom practiced law here several years, till about 1835, when he sold to Robert O. Reynolds, who studied with him, and removed to Binghamton. Reynolds practiced here till the fall of 1844, when he sold to Lester Chase and removed to Norwich, and subsequently to Cortland, where he died in 1856. He was appointed District Attorney of Chenango county in 1843.
Robert B. Monell came from Hudson, N. Y., about 1830 and read law in the office of his uncle, Judge Robert Monell. After being admitted he practiced here till about 1846 or '7. He was clerk in chancery till the office was abolished in 1846. He returned to Hudson, where he sill resides, and practiced with his father, Joseph D. Monell, till the latter's death. He is a brother of the late Claudius L. Monell, First Judge of the Superior Court, who died a few years ago.
Judge Thomas A. Johnson came in from Colesville, Broome county, about 1830, and read law with Judge Monell. He practiced here a year or two and removed to Corning, Steuben county, where he pursued a very successful practice until elected Justice of the Supreme Court for the 7th District, first, June 7, 1847, again Nov. 6, 1849, and again November, 1857, holding the office at his death in 1872. He was a very eminent judge.
William M. Patterson, a native of Oxford, was practicing here a few years previous to 1836, and continued till 1840, when he removed to Binghamton; after a few years he removed to Wisconsin and died there. Erastus Foote came from the north part of the county about 1836 and read law with William M. Patterson. He was admitted in 1838 and practiced here till April, 1851, when he removed to Wisconsin, and after a few years to Milwaukee, where he died two or three years ago. Alonzo Johnson came from New Berlin in the spring of 1840 and practiced till about 1866 or '7' when he removed to Washington, D. C. to fill a clerkship in one of the departments, and died there a few years ago. Selah Squires, a native of Binghamton, read law with Judge Monell and was admitted about 1848. About 1858 he removed to New York, and afterwards accepted a clerkship appointment in Washington, where he died. Frank Cunningham came in about 1850 and read law with Lester Chase. He was admitted in 1852 and practiced till 1853, in company with his preceptor. He then practiced a year or two in company with Judge Monell. He went west. Ransom McDonald came in from Schoharie county about 1856, and practiced till his death six or seven years ago. He was appointed Special Judge of Chenango county April 4, 1864, vice Alfred Nichols, deceased, and held the office the balance of the term. Robert L. Brougham came from the northern part of the State in 1870 and practiced one and one-half years, till 1871, when he removed to Glens Falls, N. Y., and died in Livingston county, while residing in the former place. H. W. Frost came from Windsor, Broome county, about 1870 and practiced till Sept., 1874 when he removed to Wisconsin. William Irving came from Whitney's Point in 1847 and read law with Erastus Foote. He was admitted about 1848 and practiced till 1849, when he removed to Corning, where he practiced till 1861, when he enlisted as a Colonel, was taken prisoner, confined in Libby Prison, and subsequently exchanged. He is now practicing his profession in San Francisco.
The present lawyers in Greene are: Lester Chase, Edgar J. Arnold, Marshal F. Porter and Lester Elwyn Chase.
Lester Chase was born in Triangle, N. Y., May 2, 1815. He commenced the study of law with Robert O. Reynolds in Greene, in 1836, and was admitted in October, 1840, since which time he has practiced his profession here. Since May, 1878, he has been practicing in company with his son, Lester Elwyn Chase, under the name of L. & L. E. Chase. He has been Justice six years, and Notary Public since January, 1869. He was Master in Chancery from 1843 to '46. Lester Elwyn Chase was born in Greene June 2, 1852, and commenced the study of law with his father in October, 1871. He was admitted to practice in May, 1878, in March of which year he was appointed Notary Public.
Edgar J. Arnold was born in New Berlin, Chenango county, May 27, 1850. He was educated in the academies of New Berlin and Oxford, and commenced the study of law in his native town with Messrs. Jenks & Matterson, the former of whom is now Judge of Chenango county. He completed his legal studies with James E. Dewey, of Fort Plain, and was admitted to practice in June, 1871, commencing in Greene, where he has since continued. He was Clerk of the village five years, from 1873 to '78.
Marshal F. Porter was born in New Lisbon, April 30, 1849. He commenced his legal studies with Messrs. Jenks & Matterson, and completed them with E. J. Arnold, of Greene. He was admitted September 10, 1874, and commenced that year, and has since practiced in Greene.
BANKS.---The first bank in Greene was the Hamilton Exchange Bank, which was removed from Hamilton to this village about 1854, and failed in the panic of 1857. It was a State bank, and was located in the store now occupied by Enos C. Morse. T. C. Grannis was the banker.
The Juliand Bank, (William F. Russell and Joseph E. Juliand, bankers,) was established in 1859 by Joseph Juliand and William F. Russell, who carried on the business till the death of the former, February 13, 1870, when Joseph E. Juliand succeeded to his father's interest, and has since done business in company with his brother-in-law, Mr. Russell, under the name of Russell & Juliand. It is a private bank, and its operations are conducted in a building fitted up for the purpose from a store and standing on the north-east corner of Genesee and Chenango streets, diagonally opposite the Chenango House.
MANUFACTURES.---The foundry and machine shop at Greene, one of its most important industries, was established in 1840, by George R. Lyon, who has carried on the iron business in this place about fifty years, (several years as blacksmith,) from 1822. The present buildings were erected by him. He succeeded Henry A. Lyon and Louis E. St. John in the present business March 13, 1877. They had conducted it some seven or eight years. The building originally used for the foundry was erected for a distillery about 1809, by Elisha Smith, in the interest of the Hornby estate, and was used for that purpose. It was afterwards used as a granary for the storage of grain received by the estate in payment for lands contracted to settlers. It originally stood in rear of the Episcopal rectory in Greene, and is now used as a planing-mill in connection with the foundry. These works give employment to sixteen persons. A specialty is made of small, gray iron castings, in which direction they probably do a larger business than any other foundry in the State.
The Chenango valley mills, at Greene, are owned by Edmund Gould, and operated by him and James M. Chapman. The mills were built by Eli Haynes in 1836. They contain five run of stones, propelled by water-power furnished by the river, with a four foot fall. Connected with them is a plaster mill, built in 1866, and operated by the same company. The plaster used is obtained from the famous Springport quarries.
Ezra B. Wheeler is proprietor of a steam saw-mill, located on the east bank of the river, and erected by him in 1875. The building is 30 by 40 feet, with a wing 30 by 30 feet, and contains two circular mill saws, two edgers, one cutting-off saw, two lath saws, a shingle saw and a stave saw, also a feed run, operated by a sixty horse-power engine.
George W. Jennings is proprietor of a butter firkin factory. He commenced the business in the spring of 1878, in company with Albert D. Gilkey, whose interest he bought at the expiration of a little less than a year. The building had been previously used as a cooper shop, but confined to hand-made work. Messrs. Jennings & Gilkey put in the machinery, which is propelled by a fifteen-horse-power engine. Eight to ten men are employed, and from 4,000 to 5,000 firkins and tubs made per annum.22
Jesse Bartoo is engaged in the manufacture of carriages. He commenced the business in 1870, in which year the shop he occupies was erected by John F. Smith. The following spring he took in as partner William Alexander, with whom he did business till August, 1871, since which time he has carried on the business alone. The business employs four men, who turn out about ten wagons and carriages per annum.
T. B. Rowlison and Edward Belcher do a repairing business in carriages and wagons.
THE GREENE RAILROAD COMPANY was organized October 14, 1869, and filed articles of incorporation Oct. 18, 1869. The company own the right of way from the village of Greene to Chenango Forks, about eight miles, which they leased April 26, 1870, for 99 years to the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Rail Road Company, who built the road in 1870, and opened it for business Dec. 19, of that year. The town is bonded in the sum of $198,700 in aid of its construction and subscribed for an equal amount of the capital stock of the company, which is $200,000. The stockholders, who are the thirteen directors, hold the minimum amount of stock required by law, $1,300. The road now forms a southern terminus of the Utica branch of D., L. & W. R. R., which was opened in 1870 by a connecting link from Greene to Sherburne, from which point to Utica a road had been previously built by the Utica, Chenango and Susquehanna Valley Rail Road Company, organized January 11, 1866, and leased by the D., L. & W. R. R. Co. The condition of the lease requires the D., L. & W. R. R. Co. to construct, equip and operated the road on the route located and surveyed by the Greene Rail Road Company in 1870, and to pay the stockholders of the latter company six per cent, per annum on the capital stock for which they were to receive $100,000 of the town bonds, and $95,000 in cash from the Greene Rail Road Company, and in case the cost of construction exceeded that amount, the latter company were to issue additional stock under the same lease, or mortgage bonds, which the D., L. & W. R. R. Co. would guarantee principal and interest. The bonds of the town bear seven per cent, interest and mature in thirty years.
The first directors were Robert O. Barnard, Maurice Birdsall, Joseph E. Juliand, Philo Webb, Simeon Walker, Elias B. Jackson, Harmon O. Banks, Stephen A. Race, David Terwilliger, John W. Davidson, William G. Welch, Frederick Juliand and Charles F. G. Cunningham, all of Greene; and the first officers were Maurice Birdsall, President; Robert O. Barnard, Vice President; Joseph E. Juliand, Secretary and Lewis S. Hayes, Treasurer. At the annual election in 1870, the same Board of Directors were elected except that Nathaniel F. Moore was elected in place of Simeon Walker. The same officers were elected, except that the additional duties of treasurer were devolved upon Joseph E. Juliand.
January 18, 1871, directors Davidson, Race, Banks and Terwilliger resigned and were succeeded by John Brisbin, Moses Taylor, Percy R. Pyne and Samuel Sloan, the latter of whom was elected Vice-president in place of R. P. Barnard, resigned. This board was re-elected annually, and the officers continued the same till 1879, when Maurice Birdsall, Robert P. Barnard, Joseph E. Juliand, Frederick E. Barnard, Townsend D. Welch, Frederick Juliand, Elias B. Jackson, Philo Webb, Nathaniel F. Moore, of Greene; and Samuel Sloan, Moses Taylor, Percy R. Pyne and John Brisbin, of New York, were elected directors, and Maurice Birdsall, President, Samuel Sloan, Vice-President and Joseph E. Juliand, Secretary and Treasurer.
HOTELS.---The Chenango House, the principal hotel in the village, is kept by Mrs. Kate L. Parker. It was built in 1837 by Messrs. Rathbone, Hunt & Hatch, who were then engaged in mercantile business in the village. The first hotel on this site was built in 1803, by Thomas Wattles. It was the first frame house in the town and stood till the present house was erected. The Union Hotel was built for a residence in 1827. In 1835, the year previous to the completion of the canal, it was enlarged and converted into a hotel by Myron Cowles. It was first kept by Philo B. Callender, who married Cowles' wife's sister, and is now a General of militia in Oregon. It has been kept for the last two years by Charles H. Hunt, who succeeded his father, D. M. Hunt, who bought the property of Smith Baker in 1869.
FIRE DEPARTMENT OF GREENE.---How early the first fire company was organized in the village we have been unable to definitely determine, but there does not appear to have been a public organization prior to 1845. March 25th of that year the Greene Hook and Ladder Association, in accordance with their own proposition, turned over their property to the village officers, the condition imposed requiring the village to assume the association's indebtedness of $22.43. August 26, 1845, the village trustees resolved to raise $333.33 besides collectors' fees, for the purpose of purchasing a fire engine. July 9, 1846, U. Whittenhall and Artemas Haynes were constituted a committee to examine and report to the trustees on the subject of the purchase of a fire engine and apparatus; and January 26, 1846, they resolved to purchase of Thomas Ling a fire engine, "with suction power," at $350.00, also 200 feet of copper nailed hose.
August 16th, 1846, the following named persons were constituted Fire Engine Company No. 1: U. Whittenhall, Chief Engineer; George S. Roswell, Assistant Engineer; James Fairchilds, George W. Griswold, S. Ferguson, B. Thurber, E. H. Wilcox, Augustus Taylor, P. Watrous, J. A. King, T. Turk, Jr., T. Winter, E. R. Gray, J. Wilson, H. Bartoo, Jr., H. Hollenbeck, George English, William C. Watson, H. Lansing, V. Watson, C. H. Squires, C. C. Willard, H. Lyon, George Bradley, William F. Lyon, G. F. Stevens, F. Cowles, J. Kingsman, W. R. Newton, J. F. Cushman, George Van Valkenburgh, Theodore Squires, R. Sherwood, H. Smith and A. Hoyt, members; and the following a Hook and Ladder Company: L. D. Lewis, Chief; J. D. Taylor, Assistant; A. D. Storm, N. P. Rose, J. Pangburn, P. Ashley, S. Maxwell, W. Watrous, R. W. Parker, C. Whitbeck, E. Green, M. Cowles, H. Hoyt, J. Fredenburgh, P. Hollenbeck, F. Dinnen, Elijah Adams, R. Austin, H. N. Slocum, L. T. Darby, S. S. Nichols, A. Morris, H. Smith, Jr., J. G. Reynolds and L. R. Hitchcock, Members.23
August 25th, 1846, a lot was purchased of Rathbone & Hunt for $150, on which to build an engine house, which was erected the following year.
May 20th, 1853, the members of the Fire Company in good standing were exempted from paying poll tax.24
August 10, 1853, a code of by-laws adopted by "Ocean Fire Engine No. 1," Aug. 2, 1853, were approved by the village trustees. In 1853, also, an Engine, Hose-Cart and one set of connecting screws were purchased at a cost of $892.75.
March 1, 1873, it was resolved to organize a Hook and Ladder Company to be composed of thirty members, and to create the office of Chief Engineer, that officer to be elected by a majority vote of the members of the Engine, Hose and Hook and Ladder Companies. The election of F. V. Turk to that office was confirmed by the trustees in May, 1873. He has been annually elected since. G. C. Roberts was elected assistant engineer in 1874, '5, '6, and Orlando F. Cowles in 1877, '8, '9.
May 24th, 1879, on motion of J. E. Juliand, it was resolved that the President be authorized to build for fire purposes a reservoir on the premises of Robert P. Barnard, Robert E. Rice, James Ramsey, or Weston Holcomb, another near the cooper shop "of about 400 superficial feet," and a third near the depot; also to build a dam where the brook crosses the road at the foot of the west hill of the height of about eighteen inches, and to set a hogshead at or near where Birdsall brook crosses Main street, and that he have power to contract for labor and materials.
The department at present comprises: Ocean Fire Company, organized August 2, 1853, Henry Bolt, Foreman, and Charles Bolt, Assistant Foreman; Active Hook and Ladder Company, organized April 1st, 1873, John Ramsey, Foreman, and N. A. Dederer, Assistant Foreman; and Ocean Hose Company, organized Jan. 6th, 1874, M. M. Wheeler, Foreman and F. J. L. C. Cunningham, Assistant Foreman. Its equipment consists of one Button Engine, one Hose Cart, one Parade Hose Carriage, 1,600 feet of first class Leather Hose, and a good Hook and Ladder Truck, with all the necessary appurtenances.
SCHOOLS.---A meeting of the legal voters in school district number 4, of Greene, was held at Union Hall in the village of Greene, Feb. 12, 1874, and it was unanimously decided to establish a Union Free School25 within the limits of that district, pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 555 of the laws of 1864, and the amendments thereto, and the following named persons were chosen members of the Board of Education: Robert O. Barnard and Joseph E. Juliand to serve three years, Lewis E. St. John and George O. Williams, two years, and Addison D. Adams, one year. The Board met Feb. 26, 1874, and elected Robert O. Barnard, President, and Joseph E. Juliand, Secretary.
March 4, 1874, it was decided to establish an academic department in said school; and March 9, 1873, the Board voted $130.00 for a set of philosophical apparatus and $2.50 for a set of geometrical blocks, and decided to apply to be received under the visitation of the regents.
At a special meeting of the voters of the district held June 23, 1874, it was resolved to use the room known as Union Hall in the school building exclusively for school purposes, and the Board was authorized to expend not to exceed $600.00 in partitioning and furnishing it. In that year repairs amounting to $855.00 were made on the building, and furniture added valued at $181.14; in August, 1875, an organ was purchased at a cost of $150.00.
Aug. 4, 1874, Jesse E. Bartoo26 was chosen principal, Miss A. V. Mead, preceptress, and Misses Agnes Purple, Lottie Hayward, S. Bell Willard, assistants. July 26, 1875, A. J. Osborn was employed as principal and Miss Jennie Williams, assistant in place of Miss Hayward. E. W. Rogers was chosen principal July 12, 1876, and July 24, 1876, Misses Julia M. Stevens and Kate A. Hearn were chosen assistants in the place of Misses Mead and Williams. November 20, 1876, Miss Florence McIntosh was chosen assistant in place of Miss Purple. There was no further change in teachers till 1879, apparently, except that the position of principal was tendered to C. N. Cunningham. March 12, 1879, E. T. De Bell was hired for one term of fourteen weeks, and March 13, 1879, Miss Clara S. Kinney was hired to take charge of the primary department, Miss Frances S. Seabury of the intermediate department, and Miss Ann V. Mead of the grammar department.
The following named officers of the Board were chosen November 14, 1878: R. P. Barnard, President; J. E. Bartoo, Secretary; W. F. Russell, Treasurer; C. B. Matteson, Collector. J. E. Bartoo'' resignation as Secretary was accepted Jan. 31, 1879, and M. S. Parker was elected to fill the vacancy. The present trustees are, R. P. Barnard, M. S. Parker, J. D. Denison and Nathan Smith.
The lot upon which the school building stands fronts on Monell street, and is 212 feet front and 183 feet deep. It slopes gently to the river, which bounds it in the rear. It was purchased in 1859 for $500. The school is a two-story wooden building, 65 feet front and 40 feet deep, with porch in front, also two stories, 15 feet front by 10 deep, and rests on a good cellar. It was built in 1859, at a cost of $5,000.00, and has been kept in good repair. The first floor is divided into four school rooms, with necessary halls, and is used by the primary, intermediate and grammar school departments. The grammar department seats 48 pupils, the intermediate 40, and the primary 38.
The second floor is occupied by a large, airy room, for an academic department, with seats for 100 pupils, a room for chapel exercises, and cloak, library and recitation rooms. All the school rooms are seated with modern furniture.
The value of the grounds, as reported to the Regents in 1877, was $ 1,500 00 The value of the buildings, as reported to the Regents in 1877, was 9,500 00 Value of the Philosophical Apparatus 448 22 Value of the Library, 1,064 volumes 1,633 78 Value of the other academic property, the Farr Fund27 4,000 00 ---------- Total value of school property $17,082 00
Receipts and disbursement for the year ending July 15, 1877:---
From tuitions collected or collectable $ 452 00 From income of Farr Fund 280 00 From apportionment from Literature Fund made in November, 1876 117 20 From local taxes 826 80 For educating teachers of common schools 200 00 For purchase of books and apparatus in January, 1877 ---------$ 2,077 00 For teachers' salaries $1,578 00 For repairs of building, etc. 45 00 For fuel, and other incidental expenses 52 00 For purchase of books and apparatus 402 00 ---------$ 2,077 00
The whole number of scholars taught during the year was 134, of whom 65 were males and 69 females. Their average age was 16 5/10 years. The number of academic students who pursued classical studies or higher branches of English education for four months or more of said year was males, 14, females 28. The average age of the males was 17 5/10 years, and of the females, 17 6/10. The number who pursued classical studies during the year was 10, 7 males and 3 females.
CHURCHES.---Zion Church (Episcopal) was organized March 12, 1833. The original members were Robert Monell, Elijah Rathbone, William Hatch, Charles Squires, Alvah Hunt, George R. Lyon, John Winter, Adam G. Ransom, Joseph Juliand and Charles Cameron.
Joseph Juliand and Charles Cameron were the first church wardens and each held the office till his death, the former in 1870 and the latter in 1852. Frederick E. Barnard was elected warden on the death of Mr. Cameron and Frederick Juliand on the death of his brother. Both still hold the office. The first vestrymen were Robert Monell, Elijah Rathbone, William Hatch, Charles Squires, Alvah Hunt, George R. Lyon, John Winter and Adam G. Ransom.
The present vestrymen are Lewis Juliand, George Juliand, William F. Russell, Maurice Birdsall, Joseph E. Juliand, Townsend D. Welch, Uri Whittenhall and Samuel P. Thomas.
Aug. 1, 1833, the wardens and vestry forwarded a communication to Trinity Church, of New York, setting forth that they had had the services of a missionary from Jan. 1st, preceding their organization, that they were destitute of a house of worship, had made an effort to raise a sufficient amount ($2,500) for the purpose of building one but got only $1,500, and appealed to that Church for such aid in their emergency as they felt disposed to give. The application for aid was renewed June 2, 1834. The records do not show whether they received the desired aid, but the well-known liberality of that society toward churches struggling for existence in various parts of the country warrants the belief that their appeal was not in vain. Almost immediate steps were taken to secure the erection of a church edifice. Sept. 9, 1833, they resolved to proceed to erect a church with the amount subscribed, and Charles Cameron, Joseph Juliand and Elijah Rathbone were appointed a building committee. Jan. 1, 1834, a proposition was accepted from Theodore Daniels to build a church for $2,245; and March 6, 1835, the committee were authorized to allow Mr. Daniels $2,487 for building the church and for extra work.
December 26, 1834, application was made to have Greene disconnected from Guilford, and made a separate missionary station, and Rev. Francis Tremayne was requested to continue to officiate here until suitable arrangements could be made to supply preaching. February 6, 1835, the resignation of Mr. Tremayne was accepted. August 1, 1835, Rev. John V. Van Ingen was requested to become the minister, which he consented to do. Mr. Van Ingen's resignation was tendered to take effect April 10, 1844.
June 6, 1836, the church was received under the jurisdiction of Right Rev. Benjamin Treadwell Onderdonk, D. D., Bishop of the Diocese of New York and consecrated by the name of Zion church.
In 1842 a parsonage and out buildings, including barn, were erected at a cost of $1,085.
March 20, 1844, Rev. Alfred Louderback was requested to become the rector. He commenced his labors as such in April of that year, and continued them till May 26, 1845, when his resignation was accepted. July 31, 1845, Rev. William E. Eigenbrodt was solicited to assume the temporary rectorship, which he consented to do August 2, 1845. He closed his labors June 12, 1846. Rev. W. D. Wilson supplied the pulpit after Mr. Eigenbrodt left till Sept. 12, 1846, when an invitation was extended to Rev. Ferdinand Rogers, D. D., of Brownsville, N. Y. and was accepted by him Sept. 15, 1846. His rectorship continued till his death Jan. 17, 1876, aged 60 years.
In 1856 the church was enlarged by the addition of 18 feet to the rear, at a cost of $1,500; and in 1875, repairs to the amount of $1,400 were made on the church. The church first erected is the one now in use.
The harmonious, steady and wholesome growth of the parish during the long pastorate of Mr. Rogers attest the happy influence of its life under his ministrations. The reverence for religion in the whole sphere of his ministry and the general grief and sorrow of which his departure called out so many and marked expressions evince the measure of respect his labors evoked.
Rev. Dr. John V. Van Ingen, then residing at Rochester, attended the funeral of Mr. Rogers and supplied the pulpit for a few months.
March 24, 1876, an invitation was extended to Rev. Albert W. Snyder, of Muskegon, Diocese of Michigan, to become the rector. His ministerial labors were discontinued Dec. 4, 1877. After Mr. Snyder left, the pulpit was supplied for a few weeks by Rev. Frank B. Lewis, principal of the academy at Oxford.
January 28, 1878, a call to the rectorship was extended to Rev. James Ferdinand Taunt, of Groton, who accepted the charge Feb. 18, 1878, and still continues his ministrations among this people.
The number of communicants reported in 1878 was 178; the attendance at Sabbath-school was 9 teachers and 60 scholars. The church was valued at $15,000, and the rectory at $3,000.
Occasionally services were held by persons of this religious persuasion prior to the organization, and were conducted by Revs. W. B. Lacey and L. Bush, rectors of the church in Oxford, and E. G. Gear, then residing in Binghamton, the latter as a missionary.
Sylvan Lawn Cemetery, on the east side of the river, is the property of this society, but is held for public use. It includes nearly six acres, three of which were purchased June 6, 1857, and the remainder July 8, 1873. It is well fenced and kept in admirable condition. It is a credit to the village and to those having it in charge.
The Methodist Episcopal Church of Greene.---The first religious meetings in the town by members of this denomination were held at the house of Benjamin Townsend, about four miles below Greene village, and there the first class was formed about 1814. In 1817 the place for holding the meetings of the class was changed to the house of Abel Norton, two miles below Greene, near the Genegantslet bridge, and Mr. Cameron was then the circuit preacher. The present Methodist Episcopal church in Greene village is the outgrowth of these early efforts. It was organized at the house of Benjamin Jackson, Sept. 25, 1827, and Benjamin Jackson, Horatio N. Gere, Benjamin Harrington, Reuben Chase and Dr. Isaac Grant were the first trustees.
The church edifice now used by the Society was built about that year. The church has been twice repaired, the last time in the summer of 1872.
Rev. Mr. Barnett was a local preacher here before the organization was effected. Following is as complete a list of the pastors of this church as the memory of the present members, in the absence of any records, is able to supply: D. Simons, in 1846; P. Compton, 1848-'49; George P. Porter, 1849-'51; Arnold G. Burlingame, 1851-'53; Hiram Gee, 1853-'55; Ellis D. Thurston, 1855-'56; David C. Dutcher, 1857-'58; Benjamin Shove, 1859-'60; George S. White, 1861-'62; Marvin S. Wells, 1863-'64; I. B. Hyde, 1865-'57; William Burnside, 1868-'70; A. F. Brown, 1871-'72; C. O. Hanmer, 1873; William H. Gavitt, 1874-'76; E. P. Eldridge, 1877; Henry Newton Van Dusen, the present pastor, who commenced his labors in May, 1878.
The present number of members is a little over 200. The church property is valued at $4,000.
The Central Baptist Church and Society of Greene was organized at a meeting held at the "Methodist Episcopal Chapel" in the village of Greene, Feb. 29, 1836. The meeting was called to order by Daniel W. Litchfield, who, in conjunction with George W. Crosby, was chosen to preside. Hilem Huntley, Henry Perry, Asel S. Holcomb, Daniel Coring, Jr., Allen Newton and Levi Farr were elected the first trustees.
January 14, 1842, it was resolved to build a meeting-house, and April 12, 1843, A. Haynes, J. Cook, Deacon A. Newton, L. D. Lewis, E. Adams, E. Forbes and J. Spofford were appointed a building committee. February 27, 1844, it was "resolved to sell the old house and as much of the lot as might be thought best." The church seems to have been complete March 9, 1844, as the trustees were then authorized to effect an insurance on it.
Elder C. Darby is the first pastor whose name appears on the records, but not earlier than April 12, 1843. Whether or no he was the pastor from the organization we are not advised; but he apparently served as late as Feb. 27, 1854. He was succeeded by Elder J. D. Webster, who remained until April 1, 1864. Feb. 27, 1864, it was voted to engage the services of Rev. H. Garlick, whose resignation was accepted Dec. 6, 1868. March 14, 1869, it was resolved to extend an invitation to Rev. J. H. Sage to become the pastor. He continued his labors till Dec. 30, 1877. Rev. S. T. Ford, the present pastor, commenced his labors in 1878, and was ordained May 1, 1879.
The number of members May 16, 1879, was 141.28
SOCIETIES.---Eastern Light Lodge, No. 126, F. & A. M., was organized October 1, 1811, and held its first meeting at the public house of Heman Carter, on the Genegantslet, about two miles west of the village of Greene, October 31, 1811. There were present at that meeting, Isaac Rosa, W. M.; Levi Farr, S. W.; Robert Monell, J. W.; Timothy Clark, Treasurer; James Anderson, Secretary; Asa Whitney, S. D.; Namon Harrison, J. D.; Asahel Olmsted, Tiler; Jonathan Phelps, Elisha Smith, Smith Bradley, Orrin C. Dow, Horatio Warner, Abel Case, Daniel Gates and Thomas Lyon. The regular monthly communications were continued under a dispensation until September 2, 1812, when they received their charter. Elisha Sadd, Samuel A. Skeel, Russell Peck, Rev. Jeduthan Gray, Russel Roseter, Jacob Decker, John Forbes, Gurdon Williams and Philo B. Palmer were admitted to membership during that time. The charter was signed by De Witt Clinton, Grand Master; Martin Hoffman, Deputy Grand Master; Cadwallader D. Colden, Senior Grand Warden; Philip S. Van Rensselaer, Junior Grand Warden; and Elias Hicks, Grand Secretary. The ceremonies attending the institution and installation were conducted by Tracy Robinson, of Columbus, Chenango county, in the Lodge room at the inn of Heman Carter, September 29, 1812. The meetings of the lodge were held in this tavern, on the second floor, directly over the bar-room, till 1816, when the headquarters were transferred to Greene village. The members were scattered over a wide section of country, a majority of them living from four to seven miles from the lodge-room. Some of them came on horseback, but more on foot. The lodge contracted with Heman Carter to furnish the room, together with fuel and five tallow candles to light it when necessary, for three years, at $12 per year.
"The Lodge," says Dr. Purple, "was invariably called from 'labor to refreshment' during the communication, when the members all repaired to the dining room, where they stood around a table bountifully supplied with bread, butter, cheese, cakes, pies, etc., never forgetting one or more kinds of ardent spirits. * * * They met at 3 o'clock in the summer, and 6 in the winter. It was the duty of the Stewards to call for this refreshment, according to the number present, and collect 12 ½ cents from each member and pay it over to 'mine host' ".
In Greene the meetings were held in the tavern which occupied the site of the Chenango House.
The Lodge suspended in 1826 and surrendered their charter in 1831, under the stress of the anti-masonic excitement incident to the alleged abduction of Morgan.
The Lodge was revived in 1847, and in June of that year, through the efforts of Dr. Augustus Willard, who was sent to the Grand Lodge for the purpose, with the aid of his cousin John D. Willard, who was then the Grand Master, the old charter and number were restored. The first meeting was held in Odd Fellows' Hall, near the canal, in the village of Greene, Feb. 10, 1848, and the Lodge duly organized. Dr. Levi Farr, the Master named in the charter of 1812, presided, and the following officers were duly elected and installed by him: Augustus Willard, W. M., R. Monell, S. W., W. Gray, J. W., C. E. Barnard, Treasurer, E. Rathbone, Secretary, J. S. Avery, S. D., and Levi Farr, J. D. Its progress has since been slowly and gradually onward.
The present officers are: Edgar J. Arnold, M., Curtis Weston, S. W., John B. Hunting, J. W., Alfred G. Rose, Treasurer, J. D. Van Valkenburgh, Jr., Secretary, A. B. Holcomb, S. D., G. E. Tarbell, J. D., J. F. Smith, S. M. C., S. P. Morse, J. M. C., Oscar Lombard, Organist, A. G. Rose, Chaplain, Thomas H. Oliver, Tiler.
Greene Royal Arch Chapter, No. 106, was instituted June 24, 1826, in the Lodge Room in the village of Greene. Perez Randall, High Priest of the Norwich Chapter, officiated in the services, by direction of the Grand Chapter. Levi Farr was High Priest that year. The Chapter suffered a suspension of 25 years. Its charter was renewed Feb. 8, 1850.
Eureka Council, No. 8, Royal and Select Masons, was organized at Greene, Oct. 10, 1855. Companion Augustus Willard was the first T. I. Master and continued so till his death in 1868. It has been a thriving organization, and the center from which has radiated the cryptic organizations in this vicinity. The Councils at Norwich and Sherburne have sprung from its membership.
Chenango Forks lies in the narrow valley of the Chenango and the somewhat less contracted valley of the Tioughnioga rivers, mostly in the former, which is bounded somewhat abruptly by hills whose steep acclivities rise to the height of over 100 feet. It is situated in the forks of these rivers, on the Syracuse, Binghamton & New York Railroad, by which it is 15 miles above Binghamton, and is the southern terminus of the Utica, Chenango & Susquehanna Valley Railroad, now the Utica Branch of the D., L. & W. R. R. It is located in two counties, Broome and Chenango, mostly in the former, and three towns, Barker, Chenango and Greene, the former two in Broome county, but principally in Barker. The village is scattering, and extends about 1 ½ miles up the Chenango, wholly on the west side, about one-third of it lying in Chenango county. It contains three churches, (Congregational, Methodist Episcopal and Episcopal,) two district schools, three hotels, five general stores, three or four small groceries, one drug store, a grist-mill, saw-mill, planing mill, two harness shops, (kept by Thomas Stoddard and J. E. Weller,) four blacksmith shops, (kept by Wilhelmus Mosher, Robert T. Hanes, Jenkins Palmer & George English, and Thomas Hosmer,) a tin shop (kept by E. G. Arnold,) a cabinet shop and undertaking establishment, (kept by James D. Seeber,) one carriage shop, (kept by D. J. Chidester,) and a population of about 500.
There are two depots on the Utica Branch of the D., L. & W. R. R., one at the upper and one at the lower end of the village.
The first permanent settlement on the site of the village was made in 1791, by John Barker, From Branford, Conn. He came by the Susquehanna to Binghamton, and thence up the Chenango, with his family, and settled on the east bank of the Tioughnioga, on the place now owned by Simeon Rogers, and the heirs of John Rogers, his brother. He took up some 60 or 70 acres of land, which extended to near the mouth of the Chenango, and purchased the improvements of Thomas Gallop, who came in 1787, and whom he found living a hermitage-like life, just west of the Tioughnioga, in the town of Chenango, near the site of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and with his family took up his residence in the Treaty House. He continued his residence here till his death, Nov. 29, 1836, aged 94 years. Mary, his first wife, died August 25, 1800, aged 56; his second wife, also named Mary, July 18, 1824, aged 73. None of his children are living. The town of Barker, in Broome county, is named in honor of him. Samuel Barker, a brother of John's, came in from Connecticut, shortly before him, and settled just out of the village, in the town of Greene, where he lived a good many years, and died there. He kept for several years the gate of the bridge built across the Tioughnioga, about the close of the war of 1812. Beverly Barker was a son of his.
Simeon Rogers, a young, unmarried man, came in soon after from Branford, Conn., and settled on 100 acres, adjoining John Barker's place on the north. In 1792, he married Mary, daughter of John Barker. This was the first marriage contracted in the town of Barker, in which these settlements were made; and Chauncey Barker, their son, who was born in September, 1793, and died June 29, 1844, was the first white child born in what was afterwards the old town of Lisle. Simeon Rogers kept the first inn in Barker, where he also kept the first store and built the first mill. He died here March 26, 1856, aged 93, and Mary, his wife, Feb. 5, 1859, aged 85. Two children only are living, George, on the homestead, and John B., also in Chenango Forks. The latter was born May 6, 1796, and is probably the oldest settler living in this locality.
In 1792, John Allen, Asa Beach and Solomon Rose, also from Connecticut, joined them in the settlement. All located on the east bank of the Tioughnioga. A family named Stead settled among the first near the west end of the iron bridge, and kept the first ferry across the Tioughnioga, in which river Stead and one of his sons were drowned. None of his children are living here.
Deacon Joseph Willard was born Oct. 5, 1876 (? 1776), and came in from Lenox, Mass. about the beginning of the century and settled near the east end of the iron bridge. He was a young single man and a hatter by trade, which business he followed here a great many years, until within a few years of his death, Nov. 17, 1869, aged 83. Sept. 6, 1810, he married Eliza, daughter of Robert Faulkner, an early settler in the locality of Binghamton, she died August 7, 1829, aged 34. He was one of the original members of the Congregational church of Chenango Forks, in 1821, and an active deacon of it from that time till his death. Four children are living, Simon, in Marathon, Joseph, in Greene, Robert, in Barker, and Harriet E. wife of Daniel Lowell, a merchant in Chenango Forks.
The Tioughnioga is spanned by a fine iron bridge, which was built in 1876, at a cost of a little over $10,000, jointly by the towns of Barker and Chenango. It is 315 feet long and has two spans. The commissioners for Barker were, William H. Beals, J. W. Kinyon and C. Parson; and those for Chenango, S. E. Judd, H. King and S. H. Bishop. The Chenango is spanned by a wooden bridge, about 320 feet long, with four spans. It was built in 1870, at a cost of $4,500, by the Barker and Chenango Bridge Co., which was chartered March 31, 1869.
MERCHANTS.---The first merchant in Chenango Forks was Simeon Rogers, who opened a small store in his log house about the beginning of the present century for the accommodation of his neighbors. He brought his goods in from Catskill, the journey occupying two weeks. Robert O. Edwards, from Mass., opened the first store of any considerable importance about 1817 or '18, in a building erected for the purpose opposite to where Dr. Lodowick Hanes now lives. It stood in the road and was afterwards torn down. He continued business a great many years, till within a few years of his death, December 11, 1861, aged 76. He was a prominent man in this locality and raised a large family of children, none of whom are now living here. A son and daughter, Charles and Susan, are living in Albany. Caroline his wife died April 7, 1828, aged 39. He was succeeded in the mercantile business by his son Edward, who continued but a short time.
Dr. D. Cushman opened a store about 1828 and kept it five or six years. He was a drover and the store business was conducted by John Willard, who succeeded him, and continued it till his death, Nov. 9, 1847, aged 41. John B. Rogers opened a store in 1829 and kept it about forty years, during a large portion of which time he was engaged in buying and selling butter.
There were no other merchants here of any considerable prominence, except those now doing business, and those interested with them.
Daniel Lowell, general merchant, commenced business in 1834. He was in partnership with John H. Thomas in 1853, and with Charles O. Root, of Binghamton, from 1854 to '60.
Maurice Hagaman, general merchant, commenced business about 1836, in company with John B. Rogers, with whom he continued about six years. He was subsequently associated some six years with his brother James. In 1863 his son John became his partner and continued such till his death, Dec. 26, 1878, aged 38.
Hiram King commenced business about 1844, in company with Townsend Bagley, and closed out after about two years. Bagley went to California. After an interval of a few years spent in boating, about 1855, he resumed the general mercantile business and has since continued it, from about 1867, in company with his son, George R., under the name of Hiram King & Son.
George Hoadley, general merchant, a native of the town of Barker, commenced business in 1864. He was associated with his brother W. H., from 1864 to 1867.
Joseph P. Johnson, grocer, from New York, commenced business in 1867.
John W. Kinyon, dealer in hardware and crockery, commenced business in the fall of 1868. He formerly lived in Broome and Chenango counties, in the former of which he was born.
Thomas R. Lakey, general merchant, came in from Westchester county, N. Y., May 1, 1857, and commenced mercantile business in 1868.
S. H. Harrington commenced the drug business in the fall of 1870, in company with H. C. Hall, with whom he continued one year. In the spring of 1879 Well Roos became his partner and the business has since been conducted under the name of S. H. Harrington & Co.
Rufus B. Bennett, grocer and hardware dealer, came in from North Fenton and commenced business in 1875, in company with Alexander Ferris, whose interest he bought after the expiration of two years.
Charles N. Hollister, a native of Chenango Forks, commenced the grocery business in 1876.
John Barker Hogan, hardware dealer, commenced business in 1877.
POSTMASTERS.---Simeon Rogers, the first postmaster, was appointed as early as 1802, probably as early, as is believed, as 1799, and kept the office till about 1826, when his son, John B., was appointed and kept it 29 years, till about 1855. He was succeeded by Dr. William B. Squires, who held it till his death, Jan. 20, 1858, when Dr. Royal R. Carr was appointed and held it about two years. Theodore S. Rogers, son of John B. Rogers, was next appointed and held the office two or three years, when Henry Augustus Rogers, his brother, was appointed and held it till his death, July 3, 1876, aged 55. His widow, Harriet A. Rogers, succeeded him and still holds the office.
PHYSICIANS.---Royal R. Carr, who died recently in Binghamton, William B. Squires, from Chenango county, and Reuben Winston, from Westerloo, Albany county, were practicing medicine here in 1846; but how early they commenced and who preceded them, if any one did, we have not been able to definitely determine. Carr continued practice till about 1870, when he removed to Binghamton, where he practiced till his death. Squires did not practice much after 1846, owing to ill health. He removed to a farm and remained on it, in the effort to reclaim his health, till his death, Jan. 20, 1858, aged 34. Winston was practicing in company with Dr. Squires and left for Wisconsin in 1846. William Dorr came in from Vermont in 1848, and practiced till 1856, when he removed to Binghamton.
The first resident physician was probably Sidney A. Sheldon from Otsego county, a young, single man, who came about 1826, and soon after married Mary Ann, daughter of Robert O. Edwards, one of the early settlers in this locality, and a prominent merchant and lumberman at Chenango Forks. He practiced here five or six years, when he removed to Mississippi, where he died. His wife is now living in Kingston, Canada. A Dr. Peets practiced here two or three years previous to 1846; and a Dr. Churchill a corresponding time, about 1837 or '8.
The present physicians are Lodowick Hanes, Salphronius H. Harrington, Zina A. Spendley and Clark W. Greene.
Lodowick Hanes was born in Westerloo, Albany county, March 5, 1809, and studied medicine with Dr. Zina W. Lay, of Westerville, in that town. He was licensed to practice in 1842, and commenced in the town of New Scotland, in his native county, whence he removed to Chenango Forks in 1846. Though not now in active practice, he is occasionally called upon to assist in difficult cases and in surgical operations.
Salphronius H. Harrington was born in Greene, Chenango county, March 2, 1829, and studied medicine at Lisle, with Dr. S. H. French. He was graduated at Union College in 1853, and attended the Albany Medical College in 1854 and '5, graduating there the latter year. He commenced practice at Lisle, in company with Dr. French, in 1855, and removed thence in June, 1856, to Chenango Forks, where he has since practiced.
Zina A. Spendley was born in Binghamton, Oct. 19, 1842, and studied medicine there with Dr. George A. Thayer. He subsequently attended the Eclectic Medical College of Pennsylvania, at Philadelphia, from which he was graduated June 25, 1869. He commenced practice at Mott's Corners, in Tompkins county, where he removed in 1866, and in 1868 located in Chenango Forks, where he has since practiced.
Clark W. Greene was born in the town of Willett, Cortland count, Oct. 30, 1848, and was graduated from the Normal School at Albany in 1870, in which year he entered the Bellevue Hospital Medical College, where he was graduated March 1, 1873. He commenced the practice of his profession the following April in Chenango Forks, where he now resides.
LAWYERS.---The first and only lawyer at Chenango Forks was Arthur J. Ford, who located here in 1877, and remained about a year.
MANUFACTURES.---The manufactories of Chenango Forks consist of a grist and saw-mill and a planing mill, the latter of which is owned by Galusha Eldridge. The grist and saw-mills are owned by John B. Rogers and Cyrus Wheeler. Both are in Broome county, being located on that tract of land annexed to the town of Barker from Greene, April 28, 1840. The saw-mill occupies the site of one built in 1805, by a company of whom William Edwards, of Northampton, Mass., was the principal one, and which was the first mill in this locality. The saw-mill has been the property of the Rogers family since about 1825, when it was bought at sheriff's sale by Simeon Rogers, who the following year, in company with William Edwards, erected a grist-mill on the same dam, on the site of the present grist-mill.29 The dam is constructed of wood and rests upon the rocky bed of the Chenango. It gives a fall of about nine feet. The water supply is constant and the site is an excellent one. The grist-mill contains four run of stones. It is a wooden structure and has been repaired, and about 1854 was rebuilt and enlarged. The saw-mill was rebuilt in 1875.
HOTELS.---The Central Hotel is located on the east bank of the Tioughnioga, about the center of the village. It is owned by Mrs. W. H. McDonald, of Binghamton, and kept by George Slater. It was built in 1849, by John B. Rogers, on the site of a building erected for a boarding-house about 1805, by William Edwards, of Northampton, Mass., for the accommodation of the men at work on the saw-mill built that year. The boarding-house was afterwards used as a hotel till 1849, when it was removed by Mr. Rogers to its present site, and has since been used as a store and dwelling. It is now occupied by Thomas R. Lakey as a store. Edward Edwards first occupied it as a boarding-house and used it as such for several years. Russell Austin was the first to keep a regular tavern in it. He occupied it as late as 1837 and before 1829, in which year John B. Rogers built the addition, which is now occupied by Thomas R. Lakey as a dwelling.
Judge William B. Edwards, of Binghamton, is a grandson of Edward Edwards, who kept the boarding-house here, and afterwards kept a hotel in Ithaca and Owego.
The Willard House, located at the upper end of the village, was built by Oliver Willard about 1855, and kept by him and his son Oliver until the property was sold to the railroad company. It has been kept about nine years by James W. Tombs, the present proprietor.
The Gothic House, located in the lower part of the village, was built by George Terwilliger about thirty years ago, and kept by him five or six years. The present proprietor is J. S. Terwilliger, who has managed it alone since April, 1879, having previously been associated with his father in its management since 1877.
CHURCHES.---The Congregational Church of Chenango Forks.---At the request of a number of the inhabitants at the Forks of the Chenango, a meeting was held May 3, 1821, to take into consideration the propriety of organizing a Congregational church. It was attended by Rev. Charles Thorp, John B. Hoyt and Deacon Benjamin Benedict, delegates from the church in Coventry; Rev. Benjamin Niles, of Chenango Point; Deacon Stiles and Deacon Andrew Woodruff, delegates from the church in Lisle; Deacon Nehemiah Spencer, delegate from the church in Greene, who sat in council and chose Rev. Charles Thorp, Moderator, and John B. Hoyt, Scribe. John Barker and wife, from the church in Lisle; Widow Abigail Willard, Oliver Willard and wife, from the Congregational church in Lenox, Mass.; and Dennison Hoadley, Henry Terwilliger, Ebenezer Russell, Ransford Stevens, Norman D. Stevens, Joseph Willard and Eliza, his wife, Pamela, wife of Peter Barker, and Sarah, wife of Ebenezer Russell, the latter of whom were received on examination, were constituted a church.
The Society connected with this church was organized at their house of worship in April, 1832, under the name of The Congregational Society of the town of Barker. Norman D. Stevens and Joseph Willard, deacons, were nominated and chosen to preside as a Board of Inspectors at the election of trustees of said Society; and Simeon Rogers, Norman D. Stevens and John B. Rogers were chosen to that office. These proceedings were certified by the presiding officers April 30, 1832, and acknowledged before T. Robinson, First Judge of Broome county.
Rev. T. H. Griffith was the pastor in 1878. He began his labors that year. The number of members August 31, 1878, was 77, 15 of whom were males and 62 females. The number of Sunday-school scholars was 105; the number of families in the congregation, 90; and the amount of benevolent contributions, $5.
The First Methodist Episcopal Church of Chenango Forks.---At a meeting of the inhabitants of Chenango Forks, held pursuant to requisite notice, at the school-house on the south-east side of the Tioughnioga, Feb. 17, 1863, for the purpose of taking into consideration "the necessity and propriety of erecting a house of public worship at Chenango Forks," of which Nicholas Lewis was President, and Samuel Lee, Clerk, an organization was effected under the name of "The First Methodist Episcopal Church of Chenango Forks," and the following named persons were elected trustees: Stephen Palmer, Parley Blair, Erastus T. Wilson, Hiram King and Samuel Lee. At a meeting held at the same place February 28, 1863, it was resolved that said Society proceed to purchase a site and build a house of public worship; and "it was voted that the Methodist Episcopal church have the preference of said house of worship for their regular appointments for preaching and quarterly meetings, and at other times [it] be opened to all other evangelical denominations for preaching, and that said house be deeded to the trustees and their successors in office, and governed and controlled by them, subject to the foregoing restriction."
August 21, 1863, Calvin Shepard and Cynthia L., his wife, deeded to the trustees before named, for $100, for a building site for a house of worship, the piece of land situated on "lot No. 121, in the Grand Division of the Boston Purchase, in the town of Chenango, in Broome county." The church was built in 1864, at a cost of about $1,800. It will seat 250 persons.
An organization under this name was first effected in 1833, but we have been unable to obtain authentic information regarding it.
At the organization of 1863, the church belonged to the "Broome charge." The name of the charge was changed to Chenango in 1866, and to Chenango Forks in 1873.
The following are the pastors of the Church since 1863: W. P. Abbott, 1863; Peter S. Worden and F. L. Hiller, 1864; Peter S. Worden, 1865-'6; Stephen Elwell, 1867; Zachariah Paddock, 1868; Enos Puffer, 1869-'71; C. E. Taylor, 1872-'73; J. D. Woodruff, 1874; G. A. Place, 1875-'77; David Personeus, 1878-'79.
The present trustees are Hiram King, Charles Spendley and Spink Kinyon.
St. John's Church, (Episcopal) at Chenango Forks, was organized in 1877, under the missionary efforts of Rev. Russel Todd, the first and present rector, and the church edifice, a wooden structure, was erected in the summer of that year, at a cost of about $1,500. The lot upon which the church stands cost about $500. The original members were R. F. Willard and Mrs. Harriet Rogers.
It is a mission station and is supported by the Van Wagenen Fund.30
The first services were held April 8, 1877, in the Congregational church, at which time Robert F. Willard, Mrs. Harriet Rogers, Kinyon Bly and wife, Louisa, and Albert Geer, the last three belonging to the parish of Greene, were members. The present number of members is 35, thirty of whom were received by confirmation.
The meetings have been conducted continuously, at first monthly, then fortnightly, and at present weekly, under the ministrations of Rev. Russel Todd, who, until the month of March, 1879, also ministered to the mission at Earlville. Since then his labors have been confined to this mission and at Smithville Flats.
The building committee were Dr. Salphronius H. Harrington, Robert F. Willard, Henry Mayhew and Rev. Mr. Todd. The church was first occupied March 24, 1878. The meetings, with the exception of the first, were previously held in the school-house.
The number who have been baptized since the organization of the church is 50, of whom 23 were adults.
The Sabbath school was established at the opening of the church. The average attendance is 30.
Brisbin31 is a very pleasantly situated on the west bank of the Chenango, and on the canal and railroad, five and one-half miles above Greene. It contains one church (Baptist) two stores, one hotel, a district school, a saw-mill, owned by J. E. Ten Broeck, a planing and shingle-mill, a shoe shop, kept by Nicholas Race, two blacksmith shops, kept by Hiram Bartoo and Herman Estes, and a population of 150.
The planing-mill was built in 1843, by Truman Pierce, for a sash and blind factory, for which purpose it was used till 1875. S. A. McCullor has carried on the business for the last fourteen years, with the exception of two, and in the spring of 1878, admitted his present partner, E. L. Wilcox, to an interest.
MERCHANTS.---The first merchant at Brisbin was Benjamin Horton, a native of Coventry, who commenced business in 1842, and continued about ten years, when he sold to John R. Wheeler and William Tremain, who, after one year, in the spring of 1852, sold to Charles P. and Albert Jewell, who continued four or five years and dissolved. Charles continued alone and assigned, in 1858 or '9, having been associated one year with Alfred H. Race. Charles Horton and William Tremain succeeded him in 1859, and did business about two years, when Horton bought Tremain's interest and discontinued after about a year. This last firm built the store now occupied by Edward L. Webb. Cyrus Tuttle, of Oxford, opened a branch store between 1850 and '60 and kept it some two years. Derrick H. Wells next did business about a year. He was followed by Amos Hinman, in 1870-'1. Charles Schouten succeeded Hinman, taking his goods, and continued one year, when Hinman resumed business which he continued about a year. Joseph Gibson took Hinman's goods in the fall of 1875, and did business about one and one-half years. Then Hinman again did business about a year and removed to Binghamton. Henry F. Balcom, from Oxford, next did business about one and one-half years, from the fall of 1876.
The present merchants are Samuel Lee, who came from Smyrna in the fall of 1875; and Edward L. Webb, who came in from Utica in April, 1879.
Benjamin Horton's store stood opposite the residence of Sherman A. McCullor. It was removed in 1867, and is now occupied as a residence by Hiram Tucker, the station agent of Brisbin.
Chauncey Hill and Eli Haynes, Jr., did mercantile business about one and three-fourths miles below Brisbin about two years. They opened their store shortly before the building of the canal was begun. It was the first one in that locality, which then out-ranked Brisbin in commercial importance, but has long since lost that prestige and relapsed into rural sobriety. Drs. R. B. and Addison Crandall, brothers, next did business there about two years. They bought Hill & Haynes' goods and removed their stock when they discontinued. David Baird subsequently did business there about two to three years. There has been no other store there of any consequence. Others did business there for short periods.
POSTMASTERS.---The first post-office in this locality was established about one and three-fourths miles below the present village of Brisbin, about 1838, and Lorin Miller was the first postmaster. He secured the establishment of the office there, where he was then keeping a hotel, in which the office was kept by him four years. He was succeeded by Uri King, who kept it two or three years. John Stoughton was postmaster in the lower village in 1843, about which year the office was removed to the upper village, now Brisbin. David Smith, who kept the office in the hotel, was probably the first postmaster there. He held it as late as the spring of 1851. He was succeeded by George Race, who removed the office to the lower village and kept it about a year, when Albert Jewell was appointed and moved the office back to the upper village, both being designated East Greene. Charles Jewell was appointed in 1853 and held the office till 1861, when Charles F. Horton was appointed and held it till Feb., 1865. Charles M. Schouten was then appointed and held it as late as 1869. He was succeeded by W. W. Torrey, who held it till April 14, 1873, when Lorin Miller, the present incumbent, was appointed.
PHYSICIANS.---The first physician at Brisbin was probably William Clark, who practiced three or four years from the time the canal was opened, in 1836, and removed to Ohio. James Purple located at the lower village about 1843, and practiced some two years, when he moved west. James B. Fletcher came in about a year after Purple left, but staid only a few months. M. L. Vosburgh came here from Rochester about 1850, and staid about two years, when he moved west. John Tremain, a native of the place, studied with Dr. Vosburgh and commenced practice in the summer of 1852. He remained about two years and removed to Smithville Flats. He is now in Dakota. There was no other resident physician until Vincent Burgess came in. Dr. Burgess was born in Wolverton, England, March 9, 1851, and came to this country with his parents in 1856. He commenced the study of medicine in Kirkwood, Broome county, with Dr. George E. Pierson. In 1874 he entered the Louisville Medical College, of Kentucky, from which he was graduated in 1876. He commenced practice that year at Upper Lisle, and in 1877 removed to Brisbin, where he has since practiced.
HOTELS.---The hotel in Brisbin, of which James P. Smith is proprietor, was built by his father, David F. Smith, in 1846, on the site of the old "Stump tavern," and was kept by him till his death, Oct. 16, 1855, when his wife succeeded him and kept it till the fall of 1867. J. P. Kendall, his son-in-law, next kept it one year, when, in the fall of 1868, it passed into the hands of the present proprietor.
CHURCHES.---The Oxford and Greene Baptist Church is located at Brisbin. The first religious meetings in this locality were held in 1793, and were conducted by Rev. Nathaniel Kellogg, who settled there that year. In 1795, under Mr. Kellogg's efficient labors, a church was organized, and was known as the "Greene Church." There were some ten constituent members, among them Zopher Betts, Benjamin Loomis, C. Hill, Daniel Tremain and Nathaniel Kellogg, the latter of whom was the pastor, and continued such twenty-two years. He was succeeded in 1817 by Rev. John Sawyer, who served them one year.
From 1818 to 1830 they were without a pastor, owing to inability to support one, and the pulpit was only occasionally supplied.
In 1830 the present name was assumed, and in 1833 they settled Rev. E. B. Sparks as pastor. He served them one year. For a few years the church was again without a shepherd. In 1838 they settled Rev. Caleb Bush, who service them two years. He was succeeded by Rev. David Leach, who remained one year. Under his labors, in conjunction with those of his predecessor, the church added about ninety to its membership.
Rev. G. W. Mead was the pastor in 1841-'2. In the former year the present house of worship was erected at a cost of $788, a goodly sum for the people of that day. Hitherto the meetings had been held in private houses, barns and school-houses.
In 1843, Rev. David Leach again became the pastor, and this time continued his services four years. He was succeeded by Rev. E. T. Jacobs, now serving the church in Coventry. He remained three years. In 1850, Rev. A. Virgil was the pastor, and in 1852-3 the church was served by Rev. A. Gibson. In 1855 I. W. Starkweather became the pastor, and continued two and one-half years. He was succeeded in 1859 by Rev. Aaron Parker, who served them one year. He was one of the trio---Revs. Swan and Chamberlin being the other two---who did so much for the churches in this valley and surrounding country.
In 1860, Rev. I. B. Kimber became the pastor, and in 1861, he was succeeded by Rev. L. E. Spafford, who continued his labors with them three years. Rev. R. H. Spafford, his brother, succeeded him in 1864, and remained six years. In 1870 they enjoyed the pastoral labors of Rev. W. C. Phillips, and the following year he was succeeded by Rev. A. Parker, as a supply, who served them in that capacity three years. The present pastor, D. D. MacLaurin, a young man, commenced his labors with this people in 1874.
The present number of members is 122. The congregations are good and the interest is deep.
This was the first Baptist church organized in Chenango county.
The First Methodist Society of East Greene (Brisbin,) was organized at the house of William Race, in the vicinity of East Greene, March 26, 1840, and Silas Tillotson, Amos Gray, Albert B. Tomas, Abram Matteson, Dyer Rogers, Loren Soles, Joseph Dent, William Race and William Daily were the first trustees. This society is not now in existence.
Genegantslet is situated on the creek of the same name, about two and one-half miles north-west of Greene, and a like distance below Smithville Flats. This place, which is now a mere hamlet, was once the commercial center of the town, and exceeded in the importance and magnitude of its business the village of Greene. The water-power on the creek, which has here a fall of seven or eight feet, doubtless attracted settlers to its locality, and induced a growth which was long since eclipsed by its rival. It contains only saw-mill, blacksmith shop, the latter kept by Chauncey McDonald, fourteen houses within a radius of one-fourth mile, and a population of 50, and the mammoth establishment of Almon B. Robinson, the poulterer and egg dealer.
MERCHANTS.---The first merchant at Genegantslet, of whom we have any authentic information, was a man named Wolford, who was doing business soon after the close of the war of 1812, in a building which stood on the south-west corner, and was torn down some 25 or 30 years ago. He continued business here but a few years. Elisha Sadd, one of the first settlers in the town, was an early merchant at Genegantslet. He died in Greene in 1827, age 73. Sherlock Willard opened a store about the time, or shortly before, Wolford left, and kept it several years. He also kept a distillery. Willard closed business about 1825, and Greene having then began to assume prominence as a commercial center, no other mercantile business of any consequence was afterwards transacted here.
POSTMASTERS.---The first postmaster was probably Dr. Levi Farr. He held the office several years, till his removal to the village of Greene in 1825. He was probably succeeded by Elisha Sadd, who died in 1827, and he by Moses B. Adams, who held the office four or five years. It then passed into the hands of Alvin Gray, who held it till its discontinuance, about 1863.
PHYSICIANS.---The first physician at Genegantslet was Levi Farr, who practiced here from 1807 till 1825, when he removed to Greene, where he practiced till within ten or fifteen years of his death, in 1859, several years after becoming blind. Daniel Clark came in from Delaware county about the time of Dr. Farr's removal and practiced here several years, when he removed to Smithville. He was the last physician located at Genegantslet.
MANUFACTURES.---The saw-mill at Genegantslet is owned and operated by Daniel D. Bradley, who came in possession of the property some five or six years ago. It is a water-power mill and was built in the winter of 1867-8, on the site of one burned Nov. 29, 1867. The first saw-mill on this site was built by Elisha Smith, while agent for the Hornby estate, from 1802-12.
The grist-mill at this place was carried off by a freshet in December, 1878. The freshet was one of unprecedented magnitude for that period of the year. It was built by Heman Carter, father of Heman Carter, now residing in Greene, and was used both as a grist-mill and carding and cloth-dressing establishment, the latter business having been carried on by Nicholas B. Slater and Hiram Shepard a good many years.
The establishment of Almon B. Robinson at Genegantslet is one of the largest of its kind in the State, if not in the United States.
Mr. Robinson was born December 9, 1834, in Pharsalia, to which town his parents, who were natives of Otsego county, removed about 1825-30. He removed to Genegantslet in 1850, with his brother, Delos H., who died there Nov. 29, 1864, aged 43. Delos commenced that year the business of farmer and egg dealer. In 1852, Almon became his partner in the egg business and acquired the remaining half interest in 1855. Delos was again associated with him from 1856-61, since which time Almon has conducted the business alone.
About 1866-70 the poultry business was introduced and conducted experimentally. It has proved most successful and has grown to such proportions that Mr. Robinson now handles from 30,000 to 60,000 pounds of poultry per annum, the amount varying with the season. He raises no poultry himself, but fattens all he sells. He handles 140,000 to 180,000 dozen eggs per annum.
The turkeys are fatted in compartments holding 300 to 500 each, and fed with buckwheat, oats, corn and scalded meal. In the turkey yards he uses about as many bushels of gravel as grain, that article being supplied regularly every day. The hens are fed in the same manner as the turkeys, and are kept in compartments holding from 100 to 200 each. The ducks are separated into compartments holding 500 each and are fed with corn. The largest number kept in any one year was 12,000 head, including hens, ducks and turkeys. He uses about 500 bushels of gravel during the season, which lasts from November 1st to January 1st.
The poultry is killed and frozen at the ordinary temperature, and packed in a building constructed for the purpose, and made impervious to heat. It was built in 1878, is 60 by 16 feet, one story high and has a storage capacity of 80,000 pounds. About twenty feet of this building is used for freezing purposes, a process which is accomplished solely by exposure upon shelves to the atmosphere. The interior dimensions of the storage compartment are 30 by 13 feet, 10 feet high. The heat is excluded by the use of saw-dust packing and air spaces.
The eggs, a portion of them, are packed in a lime pickle, because they can thus be kept good longer and at less expense. The major portion, which are sold for fresh, are packed in barrels and stored in a refrigerator, which consists of a massive stone building, erected in 1875, at a cost of $7,000. Its dimensions are 35 by 50 feet. The walls are 40 feet high. It has three stories and as many floors. Its storage capacity is 1,600 barrels. About 300 tons of ice are annually used, and the temperature does not vary more than one or two degrees during the whole year. The eggs are sorted in a darkened room, called the "sorting room," by candle light, every egg packed being candled.
Mr. Robinson is also an extensive farmer and dairyman. His farm comprises 750 acres, acquired at different times, 680 of which lie in one body and are under cultivation. The remaining 70 acres are woodland. His dairy, which is a private one, comprises 85 cows.
MANUFACTURES. --- The Greene Woolen Mills are located two and one-half miles east of Greene. They were established about 1840, by Ephraim Wheeler, who built, owned and run them. They are now owned by Rev. W. W. Shaw and are managed by James Stirk. They are operated by both water and steam; employ about ten persons and a capital of about $6,000, independent of buildings, machinery, etc.
The knife factory of David McMoran, located on the Genegantslet about one and one-half miles west of Greene, was established over 25 years ago. The cost of the buildings, machinery, etc., was about $2,500. The property includes two acres of ground and a pond covering ten acres. He uses a capital of about $1,000 and gives employment to 5 to 10 persons. The capacity of the works is about 100 dozen knives per day. Various kinds of knives are made, but principally shoe, butcher, bread, cigar, kitchen and horse-shearers' knives. The best English cast steel is used. The machinery includes a good trip-hammer, and is propelled by three iron wheels, with a fourteen foot head, giving a power equal to 10 or 12 horses. Mr. McMoran has also a lath and shingle machine.
The pond is known as Round Pond. It is nestled among the hills, with high, precipitous banks, and has an outlet, but no visible inlet. The view of this pond from the road which winds along its border is one of rare beauty.
About three miles above Greene is a grist-mill owned by Edmund Gould and operated by Henry Bingham. It was built about 55 years ago, by Eli Haynes, and contains three run of stones. Connected with it is a saw-mill, under the same management, which was built by Haynes about the same time as the grist-mill. They are propelled by water-power, with a fall of about five feet.
CHURCHES. --- The Coventry and Greene Baptist Church, located on Page Brook, four miles south-east of Greene, was organized Nov. 28, 1818. The first preacher was Elder John Sawyer, who held meetings in the school-house east of the church about 1809. Among the constituent members were Hickson Jones and wife, Benjamin Jones (who was afterwards licensed to preach,) and wife, Samuel Gould and wife, Hale Salisbury and wife, Leonard and William Ellis and their wives, _____ Wilber, Mrs. Chandler, ______ Everts and wife and Nathan Bennett.
At Genegantslet, in 1807, was organized the Second Baptist Church of Greene,32 by Elder Jeduthan Gray, who came in the preceding year from Berkshire county, Massachusetts, where he was well and favorably known as a clergyman, and settled in that locality, on the east side of the Genegantslet. Immediately on his arrival he commenced the work of gathering a Church, which soon became respectable both in character and numbers, and extended over that part of Greene and the eastern part of the town of Lisle. Elder Gray was for twenty-five years its pastor. His clerical duties were not confined to any central point, but extended to every neighborhood and hamlet in the vicinity. His unremitting attention to the sick, the dying and the disconsolate, elicited universal praise, while his talent was as universally acknowledged. In 1812 Elder Gray united with Eastern Light Lodge of F. & A. M., and many of his Church, who believed the act to be contrary to the spirit and teaching of the Church, resented it by withdrawing and forming the following year the Church in Smithville. His influence, for a time, was in consequence very much cripples; but "as he literally supported his Church, rather than the Church him," the disturbance soon subsided, "and he was enable to pursue the even tenor of his way in his work of love and mercy." He died at Sugar Grove, Warren county, Pennsylvania, in 1830, aged 75 years.
WAR OF THE REBELLION.---A special meeting was held in the town of Greene, January 2, 1864, to take into consideration the matter of the proposed draft in that month and year, which required 42 men as the quota of the town for the 300,000 men then recently called for, and 51 to make up its deficiency under former calls; and it was resolved to pledge the faith of the town to pay to each volunteer credited on the quota previous to the draft, in addition to all other pay and bounties, a town bounty of $310. William F. Russell, Peter B. Rathbone and Maurice Birdsall were appointed a Finance Committee, to aid, advise and direct the Supervisors and Town Clerk in and about the preparation of the coupon bonds, which the latter were directed to issue to the amount necessary to pay the bounty, and to officially sign; the bonds to draw interest at seven per cent, payable annually. The bonds were made payable: $5,000 in one year from the date of issue; $5,000 in two years; and the remainder of the issue in three years.
At a special town meeting held at Union Hall, April 14, 1864 it was
"Resolved, That, pursuant to an act of the Legislature of this State, passed February 9, 1864, we raise upon the taxable property of this town the sum of $400, as a bounty to be paid each volunteer soldier who shall be accepted and credited to this town to fill its quota under the last call of the President of the United States for 200,000 men.
"Resolved, That the said sum be paid in the following manner, viz: town bonds be issued by the Supervisor and Town Clerk, made payable, one-half in three years, and one-half in four years from the first day of February next, with interest payable on the whole amount the first day of February next, and annual interest thereafter."
The Supervisor and Town Clerk were authorized to issue the necessary bonds, sell them at public or private sale, at not less than par value, and pay the bounties, together with the expenses necessarily incurred in issuing them, and the same gentlemen were reappointed to assist them.
At a special town meeting held July 30, 1864, the Town Auditors were authorized to raise, by tax upon the taxable property of the town, a sum sufficient to pay to each volunteer soldier, or to such residents of the town as furnished substitutes before the draft, who were applied on the quota of the town under the call of July 15, 1864, for 500,000 men, a sum not to exceed $500, for either one or three years; the amount necessary to carry out the provisions of the resolution to be raised by the issue of bonds made payable as follows: one-third, February 1, 1870; one-third, February 1, 1871; and the balance, February 1, 1872, with interest at seven per cent. The same committee were appointed to assist in issuing and selling the bonds.
At a special town meeting held September 9, 1864, the Town Auditors were directed to raise by tax and pay to each volunteer thereafter credited on the quota of the town, under the call for 500,000 men, not to exceed the number requisite to fill the quota, an additional sum not to exceed $500; and to raise the necessary amount by the sale of town bonds, to be made payable February 1, 1873. Those furnishing substitutes were to receive only $500 as previously.
At a special town meeting held December 17, 1864, the following action was taken:---
"WHEREAS, The war still continues, and there is a prospect of another large call for troops soon; and whereas, on the last call volunteers and substitutes were paid a much larger amount than necessary had a bounty been voted sooner; and whereas, it is desirable to be prepared early to fill the quota of the town for future calls at as low a price as possible: therefore,
"Resolved, That the Auditors be authorized to raise by tax $500, to be paid to each volunteer who shall hereafter enlist and be credited on the quota of said town, under the next call of the President for more soldiers, and the same sum to those persons hereafter procuring substitutes.
"Resolved, That the money to be raised to fill the quota for the next call, if any, shall be made by the sale of town bonds, to be made payable February 1, 1874; but if the sum to be raised exceeds $10,000, then the bonds shall be made payable, one-half February 1, 1874, and one-half February 1, 1875."
Following is a report of the Board of Town Auditors of the funds received for the sale of bonds issued for the payment of war bounties, and the manner of their disbursement:---
Feb. 1, 1864. To Cash received from sale of town bonds due Feb. 1, 1865, '66 and '67 $13,100.00 Feb. 1, 1864. To Cash received for premium on bonds 15.97 April 21, 1864. To Cash received from sale of town bonds due Feb. 1, 1854 and '69 10,800.00 April 21, 1864. To Cash received for premium on bonds 156.39 Oct. 15, 1864. To Cash received from sale of town bonds due Feb. 1, 1867, amount lost by F. Juliand33 6020.00 Oct. 15, 1864. To Cash received from sale of town bonds due Feb. 1, 1873 14,300.00 Oct. 15, 1864. To Cash received for accrued interest from date to sales of bonds 38.25 Aug. 11, 1864. To Cash received from sale of town bonds due Feb. 1, 1870, '71 and '72 36,000.00 Aug. 11, 1864. To cash received for premium on bonds 15.55 ---------- $80,446.16 Feb. 1864. By Cash paid 42 men to fill quota, $310 $13,020.00 Feb. 1864. By paid for interest on Cash borrowed, stamps and expenses 95.97 April 1864. By Cash paid Wheeler & Co. for 27 men, $400 10,800.00 April, 1864. By expenses, printing, stamps, telegraphing, &c. 39.65 April, 1864. By paid Supervisor to the credit of the town 116.74 Oct. 1874. By Cash paid for loss incurred by F. Juliand 6,020.00 Aug. 1864. By Cash paid for 22 substitutes credited 11,000.00 Aug. 1864. By Cash paid for 39 men got by Walker 33,850.00 Oct. 1864. By Cash paid for a volunteer at home 500.00 Oct. 1864. By Cash paid for Geo. C. Roberts, by vote 800.00 Oct. 1864. By Cash paid for 1 volunteer in place of Levi Lowell (2 years) 325.00 Oct. 1864. By Cash paid for 7 negroes, by Wm. Jones 3,500.00 Oct. 1864. By Cash paid for 1 volunteer extra in place of 1 not credited in time 350.00 Oct. 1864. By Cash paid over to Supervisor to credit of town over $25 paid out of Interest Account, instead of issuing a fractional bond 28.80 ---------$80,446.16
Copy of a statement sent to Captain Gordon, Aug. 4, 1865, of the amount paid by the town for substitutes and volunteers.
For call of February 1, 1864, 42 three years' volunteers, $310 each $13,020 " March 14, " 27 " " 400 10,800 " July 18, " 20 " substitutes 500 10,000 " " " 1 two years' " 500 500 " " " 1 one year's " 500 500 " " " 29 " volunteers, 1000 39,000 " " " 10 three years' " 1182 11,820 " December " 1 one year's " 500 500 " " " 5 two years' substitutes 500 2,500 " " " 18 three years' " 500 9,000 ------ $97,640
Copy of a statement sent to the clerk of the Board of Supervisors to be sent to Albany, dated Jan. 20, 1866:---
"Statement of money paid out by the town of Greene for volunteers and substitutes from 1861 to 1865, and expenses attending the same.
For 18 men Subscription Bounty $50 $ 1,400.00 " 42 " Local " 310 13,020.00 " 27 " " " 400 10,800.00 " 22 " " " 500 11,000.00 " 49 " " " 1000 49,000.00 " 10 " " " 1182 11,820.00 " 24 " " " 500 12,000.00 ---------- $109,040.00 Whole amount paid out for expenses in obtaining 202 men, as per vouchers on file 5,117.30 ---------- $114,157.30
The above does not include some 10 or 12 men who were drafted on the first draft and paid $300, of which we have no record."
At a town meeting held Feb. 21, 1865, $110 was voted to William Jones of Norwich, who paid that amount for a recruit at New Berne, N. C., though for some cause he was never reported to the credit of this town.
G. W. WEBB.
Mr. G. W. Webb, of Greene, son of John William Webb, of Westchester county, N. Y., was born in 1835, and settled in Chenango county in 1869. In 1862 he married Miss Mary J. Barrett, of Otsego county. She was born in 1842 and died in 1875, leaving one son, William, who was born in 1865.
In 1876 Mr. Webb married for his second wife Miss Rosella S. Barnett who was born in Chenango county in 1854, she is the grand-daughter of Charles Felix Bo Lyne Barnett, of Chenango county, who was one of the pioneers of this county.
Mr. Webb is one of the energetic farmers of the county and has a fine farm of 160 acres, a view of which may be seen on another page of this work. His residence commands a fine view of the surrounding valleys.
In early life, after being graduated from Gilbertsville Academy, he taught school for several years, finally preferring farming he purchased his present residence.